OK all. I am new to blackberrys and I love my Pearl 8100 after just ... General Blackberry forum

Denigris no está en línea Stack level 2

Smile Things I recently learned about my pearl

Advertisement

OK all. I am new to blackberrys and I love my Pearl 8100 after just a couple of months. I hardly use my desktop computer anymore. Here are a few useful things I learned which might be helpful to the newcomer, and obvious to the experienced. If I get any of this slightly muddled (I don't think I will) I look forward to further education.

Q: What's a PIN, how do I find out what it is, and why should I care?

A: Your Pin uniquely identifies your blackberry handheld to the blackberry network. No two are the same. You can find out what yours is by going to tools (probably a wrench symbol) -> Status. It's 8 characters in length that can also be found under the battery. Why does it matter? Well, lots of reasons, but you will probably be most interested in PIN messaging.

Q: OK, what is PIN messaging?

A: Pin Messaging is text messaging that is peer-to-peer, from one blackberry to another through the blackberry network. It is available only for messaging between blackberries. It's easy and free. With it, you won't have to pay for a text messaging plan through your carrier if you don't want to. Unless you need to send a message to a non blackberry device. RIM calls that kind of messaging SMS text messages, and your carrier handles that traffic (and usually charges for it).

Q: How safe is the information on my Blackberry? I have lots of confidential stuff there, and I don't want anyone seeing it. Can I protect it?