Results 1 to 6 of 6

hi guys, Hopefully some of you have experience with this. I have been given a ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    Chocau's Avatar
    Chocau no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2

    Switching providers

    Advertisement



    hi guys,

    Hopefully some of you have experience with this. I have been given a BRAND NEW blackberry device by someone which is completely unlocked and i have confirmed with the service provider the device is not locked. Voice works on the other network as well.

    I want to use this phone on another providers blackberry service. I go to register on their BIS site and it says the PIN is allocated to another provider which is correct but it is not registered, no user etc, just the imei and pin i guess.

    Are the BIS provider i want to use going to be able to move this phone to their network?

  2. #2
    li2327's Avatar
    li2327 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    30D2E555
    Posts
    1,502

    Re: Switching providers

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I would think that you would have to use the same provider that your voice plan but I'm not 100% sure.

  3. #3
    Chocau's Avatar
    Chocau no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Switching providers

    oh yes i completely know that

    What i mean is

    The phone is allocated PIN/IMEI wise to Network A according to Network B im trying to connect to

    The phone is not network locked as Phone works on Network B with Network B sim

  4. #4
    diabloboi87's Avatar
    diabloboi87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    31cdb8ca
    Posts
    235

    Re: Switching providers

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ I had this same problem with a blackberry my friend gave me. I ended up having to call network A and convince them that the BIS account that they had for the pin needed to be deleted. Now if the person you got the device from is willing to call the network then have em make the call as it will be a lot less painfull.

  5. #5
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Switching providers

    As diabloboi87 says you need to have the prior BIS account on the old carrier deleted. A BB can only be associated with one BIS account at a time and the old one is still associated with your BB. Closing a wireless account doesn't necessarily delete a BIS account.

  6. #6
    li2327's Avatar
    li2327 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    30D2E555
    Posts
    1,502

    Re: Switching providers

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ You should be able to call your wireless provider and have data support delete the old email account and set yours up. I just got my current bb used and didn't have a problem having them do that.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •