Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hi folks! I'm relatively new to the smartphone world. I've owned a Treo 700w for ... General Blackberry forum

BBwannabe no está en línea Stack level 3

Switching From Treo To BB - What am I looking For?

Advertisement

Hi folks!

I'm relatively new to the smartphone world. I've owned a Treo 700w for over a year and I've been contemplating switching to a BB for a couple of (so far) superficial reasons - I hate using a stylus, and the QWERTY on the BB's are far more comfortable than the one on the Treo.

I am self-employed - a marketing consultant, so I use my phone for both work and personal reasons. I don't care about cameras or downloading the latest Beyonce song as a ringtone. My major priorities are as follows:

1. Phone quality (clarity)
    2. Contacts management
    3. Calendar
    4. Task management
    5. Email

As you can see, email ranks at the bottom of my priorities, so that's where my hesitation lies. Aren't BB's primarily email devices and smartphones second? I was looking at the 8703, but the 8800 intrigues me. Do BB's have in depth contacts and calendar managing abilities?

I want to get away from a Windows based OS, so any input from you folks will be greatly appreciated.

Dubdub no está en línea Stack level 4
    PIN/ID
    23FEFDC4

Re: Switching From Treo To BB - What am I looking For?

Contacts and calendar functions are adequate. I am an IT business Development Exec and find it works for me. Email, phone and calendar are my priorities. I carry a Cingualr BB and a Verizon phone to make sure I have adequate coverage. Phone quality on my BB is good, and I use a BT headset which helps a lot.

The O/S is definitely more stable. I came from 3 Treo 600s and a 650 and now have the 8700c. The Treos tended to randomly reboot themselves for no apparant reason. I can remember the last time I had an unexplained reboot on my BB.