Results 1 to 13 of 13

I'm new to having a sim card... I read a good post on here about ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    Fender177's Avatar
    Fender177 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    204BAA3F
    Posts
    26

    Question Swapping out sim card

    Advertisement



    I'm new to having a sim card... I read a good post on here about someone swapping their sim card into a razr or whatever for when they go out to protect their email from being stolen along with their blackberry...

    My question... I tried to take my sim card and put it in a friends RAZR, but when it started up, it wanted to know some subsidiary password or something?? I'm assuming its a password for my sim card? I've never set a password for it, not that I know of... I tried 0000 and the last 4 digits of my number/SSN but none of them worked.... Anyone know what would be a good guess for my SIM card password? My phone is also a T-Mobile phone. To be noted too is that I tried putting my T-Mobile sim card into a Cingular razr (has itunes...wanted to check it out).

    Thanks!!

  2. #2
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    Fender, I think that's your problem. I don't think you can use a TMO SIM on a Cingular device.

  3. #3
    Fender177's Avatar
    Fender177 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    204BAA3F
    Posts
    26

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    Quote Originally Posted by ljbyar
    Fender, I think that's your problem. I don't think you can use a TMO SIM on a Cingular device.
    Ok, I figured as much -- I sent TMO an email with the same question, minus the bit about putting it in a CIN phone, so if they have some insight, I'll post it.

  4. #4
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    It is the unlock code that it is looking for.

  5. #5
    Fender177's Avatar
    Fender177 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    204BAA3F
    Posts
    26

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    Quote Originally Posted by StaceyRVC
    It is the unlock code that it is looking for.
    Be that the case --- I found this online:

    T-Mobile Sim Unlock Request
    Sim Unlock Reference: xxxxxxxx
    IMEI: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    Unlock Code: xxxxxxxx Thank you for taking the time to contact T-Mobile. Below you will see the Instructions for unlocking your Motorola device.
    NOTE: Before you start you must have a foreign (non-T Mobile) sim card entered into the handset.
    NOTE: If the phone displays, "Please wait to enter special code" or "Contact service provider," you will have to wait for it to change back. Please be aware that the phone must stay powered on to do this. If the battery is low, be sure to plug it in. It could take 15 minutes to an hour to change back. If the phone does not change back, the handset will need to be replaced.
    If the display reads "Enter Special Code", enter the unlock code and press "OK"
    If the display does not read "Enter Special code":
    1. Press and hold the * key until an entry box is displayed, then let go
    2. Enter *, #, 3, 2, # and press "OK"
    3. Enter the unlock code and press "OK." The display should read "Completed" or
    "Deleted"
    Thank You,
    Sim Unlock Department
    T-Mobile USA, Inc.

  6. #6
    Fender177's Avatar
    Fender177 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    204BAA3F
    Posts
    26

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    It looks like what I posted above is for a tmobile unlock code...

    By any chance does anyone have a cingular unlock code? If you'd prefer not to post it, just pm me!

  7. #7
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    All Unlock codes are unique to the BB by IMEI number.

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  8. #8
    MontyK's Avatar
    MontyK no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    17

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    Rcbjr - Do you know if there is any unlocking software available or is this only available through RIM?

  9. #9
    martin_j001's Avatar
    martin_j001 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    24347b90
    Posts
    100

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    There are many businesses out there that unlock blackberry's, as well as other phones. Be sure to check feedback for whatever business you plan to use. Some offer a money back guarantee, some don't....

    www.globalunlock.com
    www.gsmliberty.net
    www.iunlock.com
    www.cell-unlock.com
    www.cellcorner.com

    Just a few I could find quickly....
    HowardForums.com
    Acidstudioz.com

  10. #10
    MontyK's Avatar
    MontyK no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    17

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    Thanks for the info.....

  11. #11
    bossy's Avatar
    bossy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    Ihave the unlocking code b ut I dont konow how to enter it

  12. #12
    bossy's Avatar
    bossy no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    i have a blackberry t-mobile 8100. i have the unlocking code. idonot know how to use the code to unlock the mobile. for help

  13. #13
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: Swapping out sim card

    Instructions are posted in a number of threads here. I don't have the URL to any of them handy but there is a search feature.

    Quote Originally Posted by Fender177
    I tried to take my sim card and put it in a friends RAZR, but when it started up, it wanted to know some subsidiary password or something??
    That's Subsidy Unlock Code. Your friend's RAZR is locked.

    Quote Originally Posted by ljbyar
    Fender, I think that's your problem. I don't think you can use a TMO SIM on a Cingular device.
    You can -- it's only a problem if the device is locked (which is usually the case).

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •