Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

I don't think there is, but is there any way to make the SMS text ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142

    Question SMS text field

    Advertisement



    I don't think there is, but is there any way to make the SMS text field larger on the blackberry curve? Basically so it will allow more charachters?

  2. #2
    snipes mcgee's Avatar
    snipes mcgee no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    555
    There is no limit...well there's a max of 6 text message in one I believe, unless I'm misunderstanding your question.
    I have a BlackBerry and a WhiteApple. :)

  3. #3
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by snipes mcgee View Post
    There is no limit...well there's a max of 6 text message in one I believe, unless I'm misunderstanding your question.
    You know how when you go to write a SMS it says 160 at the top and you cant type more than that. Is there anyway to change that to where you can compose longer SMS.

  4. #4
    pNoyz3Ro's Avatar
    pNoyz3Ro no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    244A4B08
    Posts
    108
    You can type six 160 lettered messages, so in one message to someone you can send max 960 letters.

    That's a lot.
    T-Mobile Blackberry 8310 Crimson Red

  5. #5
    snipes mcgee's Avatar
    snipes mcgee no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    555
    Quote Originally Posted by armenvzw View Post
    You know how when you go to write a SMS it says 160 at the top and you cant type more than that. Is there anyway to change that to where you can compose longer SMS.
    It says 160 / 1 of 6 meaning you have 160 characters in the first of 6 available writable text messages to send as one. Once you pass 160, a second text message starts, and you have another 160 characters to write before in moves into the third one. But it's all seamless and it will all seem like one huge text message. However, when it sends it will send as however many texts it ends up being. So if it becomes 130 / 2 of 6 it will send as two messages.
    I have a BlackBerry and a WhiteApple. :)

  6. #6
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142
    Mine won't do that. When I type 160 charachters it says field full!!
    What do I need to do??

  7. #7
    snipes mcgee's Avatar
    snipes mcgee no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    555
    Oh wow...I dont even know what to tell you then...other than that it might be the work of VZW...
    I have a BlackBerry and a WhiteApple. :)

  8. #8
    uncleman's Avatar
    uncleman no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    317BC293
    Posts
    173
    I have VZ as well and cannot type more than 160, so maybe it is VZ. Although my old crappy phone would allow over 160 for in-network texts.

    Anyway, there is an easy fix -- instead of sending it as SMS, send it as MMS. Not sure what the MMS limit is but it's tons bigger than 160. Whenever I am sending a text and come close to 160, I stop typing, copy what I've typed so far, exit out of the text, start a new MMS message, paste and finish typing.

  9. #9
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142
    Yea its strange. Thanks ill try that next time.

  10. #10
    uncleman's Avatar
    uncleman no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    317BC293
    Posts
    173
    No problem armen.

    Obviously you can skip all the cutting and pasting by starting out in MMS if you think you may run long. I'm usually too stupid to think about that until it's too late though.

  11. #11
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142
    Yea if its gonna be a long one ill start as mms.

  12. #12
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770
    I would call your service provider and ask them about the limits...if it truly if 160 charcaters only you should complain cause that's a load of BS ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    uncleman's Avatar
    uncleman no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    317BC293
    Posts
    173
    Much of what VZ does is a load of BS.....

  14. #14
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770
    True...that's why I don't use them for anything damn nickle and dimers ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    armenvzw's Avatar
    armenvzw no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    142
    So far no probs. Good network.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •