Results 1 to 8 of 8

My 8120 has had to.be sent off to be replaced. I have got an old ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    mylinuxbox's Avatar
    mylinuxbox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    122

    simlock and OS upgrade

    Advertisement



    My 8120 has had to.be sent off to be replaced. I have got an old 8700g in the meantime. The phone is from another network but is now unlocked.

    If I upgrade the OS to the latest 4.5 will the phone get locked back to the original network?

    Cheers.
    Pin - 20683AD4


    If at first you do succeed, try not to look so astonished.
    Children need to feel secure, so strap them down whenever possible.

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Upgrading your device will not relock it once it is unlocked.

  3. #3
    mylinuxbox's Avatar
    mylinuxbox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    122
    Thanks for that. Will do it in the morning.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    mylinuxbox's Avatar
    mylinuxbox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    122
    Can anyone advise which applications are included in the 4.5 OS?

    I have downloded the latest OS - thanks to lavagirls thread - but when I plug it into desktop manager it finds the phone but no upgrades and the phone does not have the latest version. Any ideas?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Try going into c/program files/ common files/research in motion/app loader on your PC and run the loader from there.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Last edited by moderncowboy; 12-25-2008 at 01:23 PM.

  6. #6
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    Have you deleted the vendor file?

  7. #7
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    The only reason to delete the vendor.xml is if your installing an operating system from another carrier. If it is your carrier it serves no point.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    Yes, but he stated that he downloaded the LATEST OS, not the one for his service provider. Chances are, he downloaded one for a different provider.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •