Results 1 to 7 of 7

Last night I didn't have data service for some reason. Phone had Edge in caps ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    bmanley's Avatar
    bmanley no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    803

    SIM problem or not?

    Advertisement



    Last night I didn't have data service for some reason. Phone had Edge in caps but no data so I rebooted bb but only has GSM after that. Called AT@T and we tried everything from battery pulls to them do everything could think of. After all that they decided it could be my SIM card was bad. Well at 5:13 the next morning my BB woke me up getting messages again and has worked fine all day. My questions is this a possible bad SIM card or did they just have network trouble in my area even tho they claimed they didn't?

  2. #2
    ma077146's Avatar
    ma077146 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    3019F3E6
    Posts
    945
    The SIM card is like a ticket allowing access to a network. Features are controlled by network switch settings.

    Customer care agents have a script they read through to diagnose problems. They don't necessarily understand how the phone works, or what the steps they're reading to you mean.

  3. #3
    Brian80's Avatar
    Brian80 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    257
    if it was a service issue they wouldve probably been able to tell you that did they have you resend your service books?

  4. #4
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    in some cases if it is a network issue sometimes resending the service books won't work, and like said above most reps go from a script, so some may not know about all the outages.
    The BlackBerry Guru

    [x] My Minds Eye - Life Behind The Lens Of A BlackBerry
    [x] Pinstack Blog
    [x] Twitter

  5. #5
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Sounds like you just got corked up for a while.

  6. #6
    bmanley's Avatar
    bmanley no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    803
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~im not sure what happened. I quess it won't hurt to get a new SIM card. Might call and see if they can just send me one because its about an hour and a half drive from home to a corp store around here. Verizon has two stores here but not AT@T

  7. #7
    jake.schires's Avatar
    jake.schires no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    220
    When ever I call AT&T with problems about my data they can never tell me what the problem is. I always have to wait it out and then it always goes back to good.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •