Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 21 of 21

When I had to wipe my BB a few weeks ago, a RIM tech explained ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #16
    o1sowise's Avatar
    o1sowise no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259

    Re: "Scrubbing" a device, Has anyone heard of this?

    Advertisement



    When I had to wipe my BB a few weeks ago, a RIM tech explained the difference to me.

    They use the term wipe to reset the BB configuration. (Options, Securiyy, General, Menu, Wipe).
    It basically removes your customizations and resets databases back to the defaults.
    This takes a few minutes (<15 if I remember right).

    If you had Enabled Content Protection before you did the wipe, it's called scrubbing because it resets every bit. I've been told this takes many hours. RIM said you should do this before you sell/give/trade your BB to someone else.

  2. #17
    cwax's Avatar
    cwax no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    32DEF7BB
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: "Scrubbing" a device, Has anyone heard of this?

    Quote Originally Posted by o1sowise View Post
    When I had to wipe my BB a few weeks ago, a RIM tech explained the difference to me.

    They use the term wipe to reset the BB configuration. (Options, Securiyy, General, Menu, Wipe).
    It basically removes your customizations and resets databases back to the defaults.
    This takes a few minutes (<15 if I remember right).

    If you had Enabled Content Protection before you did the wipe, it's called scrubbing because it resets every bit. I've been told this takes many hours. RIM said you should do this before you sell/give/trade your BB to someone else.
    Yep, it's usually about an hour, depending how much data you have on the device




  3. #18
    greenandgold52's Avatar
    greenandgold52 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    330

    Re: "Scrubbing" a device, Has anyone heard of this?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~now an interesting question does scrubbing remove it polices

  4. #19
    o1sowise's Avatar
    o1sowise no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259

    Re: "Scrubbing" a device, Has anyone heard of this?

    if wiping does, then scrubbing does.
    Scrubbing is nothing more than a more secure wipe.

  5. #20
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: "Scrubbing" a device, Has anyone heard of this?

    Interesting...I must admit this is the first I have read about scrubbing, however for more details here is what the BB Technical Solution Center has to say on this (you may wish to note that once started this cannot be stopped until completed!)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The Home screen of the BlackBerry device shows "scrubbing" animation. This is accompanied by a percentage bar or an hour glass, depending on the version of BlackBerry Device Software being used.


    Cause

    Erasing all data and applications from the BlackBerry device while Content Protection is turned on triggers scrubbing, which is the process of rewriting over memory to remove any residual unmapped data on the BlackBerry device. The scrubbing process could take up to several hours.
    Any of the following processes may cause your BlackBerry device to automatically erase all data and applications, and then also trigger the scrubbing process, if Content Protection is turned on:
    • The Kill command is sent from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server to a BlackBerry device to erase its data.
    • The password for the BlackBerry device is entered incorrectly in excess of the maximum number of attempts set in an IT policy. Note: Ten password entry attempts are allowed in the absence of an IT policy, or when the default number of password attempts is used.
    • The BlackBerry device user types blackberry when manually erasing all data and applications from the BlackBerry device using Options > Security > General Options.
    Note: Once scrubbing has been triggered, there is no way of stopping it. The process must be fully completed before the BlackBerry device may be used. Removing and reinserting the battery of the BlackBerry device will only start the scrubbing process again from the beginning.
    The duration of the scrubbing process depends on factors such as the actual processor speed of the BlackBerry device, the amount of memory that it has, and the actual memory speed.


    Additional Information
    Compared to the Wipe Handheld option, scrubbing is a lengthy process and can take up to eight hours, depending on the data contained on the BlackBerry device.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #21
    James80's Avatar
    James80 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    31955D4A
    Posts
    264

    Re: "Scrubbing" a device, Has anyone heard of this?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~Im glad a few a you gave a detailed description and the diff between a regular wipe and a secure one. I guess they call it that cause when you clean something and you wipe it it just cleans the surface but scrubbing get down underneath the surface like cleaning carpet. Thus "scrubbing" is more thorough in blackberry terms.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •