Results 1 to 15 of 15

This is my first post, a thousand apologies if it's misplaced. Tried search, not sure ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    ArcticEd's Avatar
    ArcticEd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2

    Question Replacement Device & Enterprise Activation

    Advertisement



    This is my first post, a thousand apologies if it's misplaced. Tried search, not sure what to look for.

    I have an 8320 Curve w/ T-Mobile using v4.2.2.180. During a business trip 2 days ago it started saying "Sim Card Rejected / SOS". After working w/ a T-Mobile store out of town & T-Mobile BB Support they decided it was the phone & started the exchange process.

    I went to get a loaner phone yesterday & they found out that it was the SIM, not the phone. New SIM, phone works.

    I received the new/refurbished exchange phone today and (at long last) have a question:

    If I switch to the new phone will I have to completely re-do enterprise activation, or will restoring the phone data automatically do it? I've got the old phone backed up but don't quite understand if that backs up the activation or not or if I'd have to go through our corporate IT to get a new password, etc etc.

    Corp IT is rather slow & I'd rather not wait 3 days for a new password if switching phones will require it.

    Thanks in advance...

  2. #2
    natesax7's Avatar
    natesax7 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    244d259a
    Posts
    140

    Thumbs up

    Sorry to hear the problems! Losing a blackberry for even a day is like losing a friend. (Wow we can be sad on pinstack...lol)

    Since you found out that the sim was really the issue you don't have to keep the refurb that they sent you. Just slap the return label on the box and send it back to tmobile. Call to t-mobile and have them put a note on your account stating that this is what you are doing so you don't get charged the restocking fee.

    I wouldn't trade my curve for a refurb unless I absolutley had to. I have had exchanges in the past that have worked out, but I have heard a lot of horror stories too. My rule of thumb is "stick with the device you abuse, because you know what abuse it has seen"

  3. #3
    natesax7's Avatar
    natesax7 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    244d259a
    Posts
    140
    as far as enterprise activation....sorry but you will have to go through IT to get it done. They have to add your pin and IMEI to the BES to get you connected again

  4. #4
    GeneKam's Avatar
    GeneKam no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    232D8D38
    Posts
    756
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Yup sorry, the new acticvation is required!

    Welcome to stacks!!!!!

  5. #5
    ArcticEd's Avatar
    ArcticEd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2
    Thanks all - guess I'll ship the "new" one back...

  6. #6
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Keep new SIM, send back the replacement BB. No need for enterprise activation.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  7. #7
    TorturedNacho's Avatar
    TorturedNacho no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    208EB87C
    Posts
    684
    And your IT support cant reset your blackberry password as well. there is support for that. and neither can TMOBILE. its a device specific thing. you lose your password its going to be
    Blackberry = Wipe
    :/

  8. #8
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Well I don't think he wiped to begin with so there is no need for a BES refresh to reset the password with putting a new SIM since the IMEI, and PIN# don't change. To the BES server, the device hasn't changed.


    tortured NAchco....the BES Admin CAN reset the password for the BlackBerry if he forgot it but that a different thing all together. (as long as he contacts his BES admin at IT prior to reaching the 10th password attempt)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  9. #9
    TorturedNacho's Avatar
    TorturedNacho no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    208EB87C
    Posts
    684
    Quote Originally Posted by j llama View Post
    tortured NAchco....the BES Admin CAN reset the password for the BlackBerry if he forgot it but that a different thing all together. (as long as he contacts his BES admin at IT prior to reaching the 10th password attempt)
    I'd love to know the app that can do this. because i DO work in the IT dept. and ive got 3 BES admins with in earshot.

  10. #10
    cpk3's Avatar
    cpk3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    174
    If your IT is running BES 4.0 and above. They do not need your PIN or IME to activate with Enterprise Activation. All they have to do is reset the activation password on the BES account. Then you put your Corp e-mail address and the password they give you in the Enterprise activation screen hit activate and wait. The BES then picks up an e-mail from your inbox that has your PIN and IMIE in it and puts it on the server....

    As for the security password: Yes from the BES the password can be set and the device can be locked. So if you forget the security password, your IT can reset it for you, so you do not have to wipe your Blackberry.

    If I were you, like what is said above... Just put the new SIM in your Blackberry that is already activated to the BES, and send the replacement back. NO HARM NO FOUL

  11. #11
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    ^ ^ yeah, that.

    A bad SIM card does nothing whatsoever to the wireless synch via a 4.0 BES and above. So by replacing the SIM, the BES doesn't know the difference in device. The SIM is for the network (AT&T + TMO) not the BES service through RIM. You just need an active SIM to allow the BB to reach out the RIM network.

    If the device has been locked out due to a wrong password, then the BES admin would have the refresh the user's profile allowing a new enterprise activation to be completed. IF the password has been forgotten, but hasn't reached the 10th attempt (which would cause a security wipe on the device) the BES admin CAN send a new password directly to the device, allowing the End User to log into the BB and go to options > security > general settings > menu key > change password to what ever the End User had before etc...
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  12. #12
    TorturedNacho's Avatar
    TorturedNacho no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    208EB87C
    Posts
    684
    Quote Originally Posted by j llama View Post
    ^ ^ yeah, that.

    A bad SIM card does nothing whatsoever to the wireless synch via a 4.0 BES and above. So by replacing the SIM, the BES doesn't know the difference in device. The SIM is for the network (AT&T + TMO) not the BES service through RIM. You just need an active SIM to allow the BB to reach out the RIM network.

    If the device has been locked out due to a wrong password, then the BES admin would have the refresh the user's profile allowing a new enterprise activation to be completed. IF the password has been forgotten, but hasn't reached the 10th attempt (which would cause a security wipe on the device) the BES admin CAN send a new password directly to the device, allowing the End User to log into the BB and go to options > security > general settings > menu key > change password to what ever the End User had before etc...
    = Waffle Sauce.
    What i dont get is how people actually forget BB passwords.
    Even when your in a Locked down IT enviroment. with Policys out the Jang. and you have to enter the password every time you check email, and when the device locks.

  13. #13
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    from http://www.blackberry.com/btsc
    BlackBerry Enterprise Solution Security
    Release 4.1.2
    Technical Overview
    Set a Password and Lock Handheld
    Use this command to create a new password and lock a lost BlackBerry device remotely. You can then verbally communicate the new password to the user when they locate their BlackBerry device. When the user unlocks the BlackBerry device, the BlackBerry device prompts the user to accept or reject the new password change.
    Note:
    If a user forgets the password for a BlackBerry device on which content protection is turned on, do not use the Set a Password and Lock Handheld command to reset the password remotely. If you reset the user’s password remotely, the content-protected BlackBerry device prompts the user to type the BlackBerry device password, which they have forgotten, before they type a new password because content protection uses the password to encrypt the content protection key.

    Quote Originally Posted by TorturedNacho View Post
    = Waffle Sauce.
    What i dont get is how people actually forget BB passwords.
    Even when your in a Locked down IT enviroment. with Policys out the Jang. and you have to enter the password every time you check email, and when the device locks.
    well people create their own passwords with #'s and uppercase letters, all kinds of things go awry. Alot of end users think the password they create needs to be the same as a windows login. I see alot of silly things. My favorite was someone who used a 12 character password to lock the device and couldn't get back in...

    Last edited by j llama; 06-20-2008 at 12:01 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  14. #14
    cpk3's Avatar
    cpk3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by TorturedNacho View Post
    = Waffle Sauce.
    What i dont get is how people actually forget BB passwords.
    Even when your in a Locked down IT enviroment. with Policys out the Jang. and you have to enter the password every time you check email, and when the device locks.
    2 Word... Sure Type....

    That messes people up all the time when they set there passwords.

    The Sure Type keyboard is the word thing to ever happen to Blackberry.

  15. #15
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Quote Originally Posted by cpk3 View Post
    2 Word... Sure Type....
    That messes people up all the time when they set there passwords.
    I enjoy my SureType, yet it DOES mess alot of end users up.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •