Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

I was trying to update my bb 8800 to 4.5 and i got a fatal ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    blakeyates's Avatar
    blakeyates no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    161

    Please help! Fatal Error!

    Advertisement



    I was trying to update my bb 8800 to 4.5 and i got a fatal error and now my device will not do anything. I have a error sign on the screen. What do i do now?
    UGA Alumni 2008-11

  2. #2
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360

  3. #3
    blakeyates's Avatar
    blakeyates no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    161
    Which OS do i use for my 8800?
    UGA Alumni 2008-11

  4. #4
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    8800 or 8100 like it says in your profile? Which OS were you trying to update to?

  5. #5
    blakeyates's Avatar
    blakeyates no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    161
    i have the 8800 now, which os do i need and where can i get it?
    UGA Alumni 2008-11

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    blake

    Click on My blog below and follow the link to the latest OS by device.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Relax, we'll get you through this...

    What "error sign" are you seeing on your screen. What error message did you receive from desktop manager when you were upgrading?

    You were in the process of upgrading to 4.5. Which OS version did you download and install on your PC that you were upgrading to when it crashed.

  8. #8
    blakeyates's Avatar
    blakeyates no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    161
    Well it was 4.5 right when i connected it by USB the DM came up and asked me to upgrade to 4.5 and i hit upgrade and then towards the end it said fatal error and now i have a little symbol that looks like a window with a strike through and it says 507 at the bottom.
    UGA Alumni 2008-11

  9. #9
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    So you're saying you already had 4.5 on it? Where did you download the OS from?

  10. #10
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    This happened to me about 2 months ago on my backup 8100. I got the fatal error in the middle of wiping the applications off the phone.

    What I did was uninstall the DM and the OS, rebooted my PC, reinstalled the DM and then the OS (in that specific order), rebooted again, and then reloaded the OS after deleting the vendor file. I also removed the SIM card, memory card and battery.

    A little tip....remove Curve from your device details because it's a little confusing as to which device is the one you're having problems with.


  11. #11
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Quote Originally Posted by blakeyates View Post
    Well it was 4.5 right when i connected it by USB the DM came up and asked me to upgrade to 4.5 and i hit upgrade and then towards the end it said fatal error and now i have a little symbol that looks like a window with a strike through and it says 507 at the bottom.
    Did you download the OS and install it to your PC for an upgrade? If so, what version did you install? 4.5.x.x Fill in the X's.

    Erica's instructions, along with the link I posted above, should get you back up and running, along with Gary's blog.

  12. #12
    blakeyates's Avatar
    blakeyates no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    161
    no i did not download anything. It simply asked me if i wanted to update it and I said yes, and then i got the fatal error. I just need to know which OS will work properly on my device so i can reinstall the OS.
    UGA Alumni 2008-11

  13. #13
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Okay. 4.5.0.152 is the latest OS for your 8800. Click the following link to take you to the AT&T download page:

    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...E4F82F9F00E7D4

    Select the 8800 and you can download the OS. Make sure you go to Control Panel, and Add/Remove Programs and make sure there are no other Blackberry device software installed (don't uninstall Desktop Manager), then install the new software, and try the upgrade again.

  14. #14
    blakeyates's Avatar
    blakeyates no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    161
    Ok but the Desktop manager is not recognizing my device
    UGA Alumni 2008-11

  15. #15
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Okay, now we're getting somewhere. Follow the directions in the following thread, the same link I posted in the beginning of this thread...

    http://forums.pinstack.com/showthread.php?t=5178

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •