Hello, I'm Blackberry, and generally wireless/pda/cell phone, retarded. I've never used a smartphone before so ... General Blackberry forum

roc383 no está en línea Stack level 1

New to Blackberry, need suggestions on model/provider

Advertisement

Hello,
    I'm Blackberry, and generally wireless/pda/cell phone, retarded. I've never used a smartphone before so I have no experience with the various service providers and only know about the hardware from what I read on the web. Of course the people in the Verizon, AT&T, and Sprint stores just want to sell merchandise and aren't a whole lot of help. I was hoping to get some opinions from people here as to which BlackBerry model and service would best work for me.

First, I do not need or want voice service, just data. Of course Email push is important to me, and that is part of what brings me to RIMM. I need to be able to browse the internet, mostly for news. I do a lot of stock trading so I need to be able to do that while on the move as well. GPS / navigation is not a must, but something I would very much like to have. And finally, expandable memory is preferred as well. Video and MP3 is not important to me, but being able to display pictures that I load on to the device would be nice. I cannot have a camera due to employer restrictions.

From my research, my thoughts were the 8800 with Cingular would best fit my needs. It seems that Verizon cripples a lot of the features, such as GPS, where Cingular does not. Sprint does not offer a plan for data only with no voice. My two concerns with this selection are lack of Wifi and 3G support with the 8800. Does this significantly impact speed? Is the Verizon EV-DO that much better than EDGE? I don't fully understand all of this, and if I am completely off base in my pick, please let me know! Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Dubdub no está en línea Stack level 4
    PIN/ID
    23FEFDC4

Re: New to Blackberry, need suggestions on model/provider