Results 1 to 8 of 8

Like the subject... I'm using a generic data plan. Got everything that I need on ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    kolosus's Avatar
    kolosus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    315677A8
    Posts
    363

    Do I need a BB data plan to get bb messenger?

    Advertisement



    Like the subject... I'm using a generic data plan. Got everything that I need on it but was wondering if I can get on bb messenger...

    My pin: 240ec93b.

  2. #2
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Re: Do I need a BB data plan to get bb messenger?

    You need to have a data plan to use BB messenger, sorry.
    See the Official Latest OS threads updated regularly for All Devices.
    Forum Rules
    PinStack Trust Guide


  3. #3
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Do I need a BB data plan to get bb messenger?

    Quote Originally Posted by kolosus View Post
    Like the subject... I'm using a generic data plan. Got everything that I need on it but was wondering if I can get on bb messenger...

    My pin: 240ec93b.
    like said above it will not work... and technically you should be using a BlackBerry data plan now instead of the "generic" plan. You could end up with a very high bill if your carrier catches on and backdates your charges. BlackBerries were designed to work only with their data plans. I've seen it happen to several friends that had Windows Mobile devices (don't know many around here with BB's yet) and used cheaper data plans, then got caught.

  4. #4
    aswanideep's Avatar
    aswanideep no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    512

    Re: Do I need a BB data plan to get bb messenger?

    Hello & wellcome to the world of BB , yes w/o BB data plan you can't access BB messenger

    ~via Aswani-Berry (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    mrblackberry64's Avatar
    mrblackberry64 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    2423A97D
    Posts
    43

    Re: Do I need a BB data plan to get bb messenger?

    yes the data plan is required for BBM to work but if you get it working my pin me
    Pin: 2423A97D

  6. #6
    kolosus's Avatar
    kolosus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    315677A8
    Posts
    363

    Re: Do I need a BB data plan to get bb messenger?

    Quote Originally Posted by mrblackberry64 View Post
    yes the data plan is required for BBM to work but if you get it working my pin me
    Pin: 2423A97D
    Added you to my contact list and its waiting for "approval". If you didn't get it then....

  7. #7
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Do I need a BB data plan to get bb messenger?

    Quote Originally Posted by kolosus View Post
    Added you to my contact list and its waiting for "approval". If you didn't get it then....
    Unless you've added the BB data plan, it will not work. It requires the BlackBerry network and servers and will not with the generic data plan (media net , or tzones etc)... sorry

  8. #8
    kolosus's Avatar
    kolosus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    315677A8
    Posts
    363

    Re: Do I need a BB data plan to get bb messenger?

    Yes... That's what it looks like. I've been doing some research. Thanks for all your help. We can consider this thread closed.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •