Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Hi there PinStackers! This is post from a fresh and already frustrated BB owner ... ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    pedapop's Avatar
    pedapop no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2

    Multiple problems: unlocking the BB and PIN release

    Advertisement



    Hi there PinStackers!

    This is post from a fresh and already frustrated BB owner ... In next couple of sentences I would like share with you my bitter experience and ask for help or advice.
    I bought BB Curve on German E-bay in mid April this year, since I really liked features of the device. After 1 month, I finally got the smartphone (had to pay 2 times for the postal fees, since the package was returned), but without 1GB card which was promised to be given together with the auctioned device... I though - ok, its not the first nor the last time that you find unfair people selling different stuff on e-bay. But the problem is that previous owner already registered for the BIS at Vodafone so I can't use the phone properly. I see that ppl. here write about problems related to use of BB service, but they can at least use phone for talking and sms-ing. In my case its different:
    When I put my sim card in it it asks me directly for the PIN number (provides 3 tries). I thought that the phone may be locked by operator for usage, but I know that with normal mobile phones, when its locked it doesn't ask for a code/pin -it is simply blocked and doesn't work. I saw that on Internet there are a lot of offers for unlocking the BB phones, but I am not sure if the phone is actually locked, or is it possible that previous owner has this PIN which only blocks me from usage.

    So my question to PinStack experts is:
    - is my phone really locked and do you recommend a certain way for unlocking it?
    - can someone help me with releasing the PIN from previous user on Vodafone and deleting his account? Of course I tried already to register with my carrier but its says that its already registered. And e-bay seller is not responding to my mails where I ask him to contact Vodafone and tell them to release the PIN. Here is the phone data:
    Vendor ID: 124
    PIN: 251932
    IMEI: 35863.018039
    Already registrated account: Vodafone Germany
    My carrier, where I want to re-register BB account: MTS Serbia

    I would really appreciate your help, since here locally BB have been offered just recently and people don't have any experience with these kind of problems.

    Thank you very much in advance!
    Pedapop




    I
    Last edited by pedapop; 06-02-2008 at 05:53 PM.

  2. #2
    scorpiodsu's Avatar
    scorpiodsu no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    55
    Did you call your carrier to let them know about the PIN issue? Maybe they can issue a new PIN for the device. It's always good to check with your carrier with these kinds of issues. I have purchased a couple BB's on ebay and each time I had to call my carrier to get it reset because it wouldn't let me set up my info.

  3. #3
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    I highly suggest removing your IMEI info from the OP. Definitely not smart to post that publicly.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  4. #4
    Bluebell Wood's Avatar
    Bluebell Wood no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    282
    The PIN it seems to be asking for is the SIM pin 4 digit security code.

    Not the device PIN. It is confusing that they are both called PIN.

    Also you need the seller to contact vodafone to get the DEVICE PIN released from his Blackberry Internet Service Account.

    If the seller does not help you than demand a refund and open a dispute with eBay if you need to..
    Good luck.
    Last edited by Bluebell Wood; 05-30-2008 at 06:38 PM.

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    pedapop

    Sorry you are having so much trouble.

    1. To check if your phone is "locked" go to OPTIONS - Advanced - SIM and type in MEPD
    You will see a new screen with a list of settings. All should be Disabled. Otherwise you will need to pay an unlock service to unlock your device.

    2. PIN release is a bit tricky If you cannot get Vodaphone Germany to help you take a look at this thread, I beleive that one of our Experts has some success with this.

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...&highlight=PIN
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    Bluebell Wood's Avatar
    Bluebell Wood no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    282
    He needs to get past the pin code request first to use the devce.

    But yes without the sim card in you should be able to check if it is locked ot not.

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Good Point. Will it boot without the SIM card?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    If he entered the wrong pin code, wouldn't that just cause it to wipe making it as if he had purchased the phone brand new?

    Wouldn't that be a good thing in his case?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  9. #9
    Bluebell Wood's Avatar
    Bluebell Wood no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    282
    If you go to Blackbery help it explains it, on an ordinary phone if this happens you get he sim blocked after entering the wrong no 3 times and can request a puk code from the carrier (well you can in the UK) to get the sim unblocked.


    [FONT='Calibri','sans-serif']http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...00%20138560763[/FONT]



    Some are preset to 0000 but the last user could have used a different one.
    Last edited by Bluebell Wood; 05-30-2008 at 06:40 PM.

  10. #10
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Yeah it would be either of the following if its still the factory one:

    0000
    000000
    1234
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  11. #11
    Bluebell Wood's Avatar
    Bluebell Wood no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    282
    If it is connected to his new sim card it could well be 0000 or even 5555.

    Problem is what if it is the previous users code and he uses up 3 numbers but I guess if it is pedapopp's sim that is Blocked he just therefore needs to ask HIS carrier (MTS Serbia )for the PUK code.

    I am not 100% sure though so hopefully someone else will confirm.
    Last edited by Bluebell Wood; 05-30-2008 at 06:42 PM.

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    pedapop,

    What SIM card is in the device? The Germany one? You would need a new SIM from your local carrier anyway....perhaps if you visit a store they can help you test it with a new SIM card?

    EDIT

    Bluebell - the SIM PIN is connected to the SIM card, not the device as I understand it...not sure why he is still using the old sim....or if it is his sim and his account the code should be availble...
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    dj_polak15's Avatar
    dj_polak15 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    282
    i had an issue with my phone everytime my sim card fell out i had to go to AT&T and get a new pin to enter it otherwise it wouldnt work and they fixed it but i had to exchange it later on its best if you bought your BB directly form a store than on EBay

  14. #14
    Bluebell Wood's Avatar
    Bluebell Wood no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    282
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    pedapop,

    What SIM card is in the device? The Germany one? You would need a new SIM from your local carrier anyway....perhaps if you visit a store they can help you test it with a new SIM card?

    EDIT

    Bluebell - the SIM PIN is connected to the SIM card, not the device as I understand it...not sure why he is still using the old sim....or if it is his sim and his account the code should be availble...

    Yes it is connected to the sim card. I would imagine it is his new sim card that he is using as he mentions in the op.

    He could try asking his carrier (MTS Serbia) what the default pin code is.
    Last edited by Bluebell Wood; 05-30-2008 at 06:42 PM.

  15. #15
    dj_polak15's Avatar
    dj_polak15 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    282
    yea jus go to ur wireless provider to change it thats the best way

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •