Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Has anyone seen a 3rd party prgm to monitor memory usage?... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859

    Memory monitoring program...

    Advertisement



    Has anyone seen a 3rd party prgm to monitor memory usage?

  2. #2
    pniko_07's Avatar
    pniko_07 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    stack
    Posts
    912
    I haven't seen one, but I will keep an eye out.

  3. #3
    ma077146's Avatar
    ma077146 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    3019F3E6
    Posts
    945
    This is a topic of some debate among BlackBerry users. There are a few products that claim to manage your memory, but there are many that also say it's a bunch of hooey.

    You may find an article by RIM interesting; it talks about how to determine how much memory you actually have:

    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/dynam...C&kcId=KB15345

  4. #4
    stranjal7's Avatar
    stranjal7 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    #ASK#
    Posts
    298
    Once again, yet another feature that RIM leaves the end user to figure out for themselves. Why should I have to pull out a dang calculator to do all of that! Damn RIM!~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    Medic's Avatar
    Medic no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    466
    you know if we all get together and start emailing suggestions@rim.com and request memory management options then more then likely they will put them in future OS's (disk defrag, garbage can, scan disk etc...)
    Sorrow is tranquility remembered in emotion.

  6. #6
    needforspd's Avatar
    needforspd no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    264
    Quote Originally Posted by Jbee View Post
    Has anyone seen a 3rd party prgm to monitor memory usage?
    This would be sooo helpful. Would keep me from going alt-race every hour to check my memory and see how much has leaked.
    IM BACK w/ a new BB 8220!

    Do you have the need for speed? Then drive it like you stole it!


    PIN me up @ 2576B06B

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I read in another thread that there's an option on all devices to clean the memory. Their instructions were to go to Options>General Options>etc, but I have no such options on my Curve. Do any of you know where this utility is?

    Do any of you know if YouMail uses device memory?

  8. #8
    needforspd's Avatar
    needforspd no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    264
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    I read in another thread that there's an option on all devices to clean the memory. Their instructions were to go to Options>General Options>etc, but I have no such options on my Curve. Do any of you know where this utility is?

    Do any of you know if YouMail uses device memory?
    The memory cleaner I believe is on 4.3OS and up. Cuz I have it on my 8130 and didnt on my previous 8830.

    Does YouMail have a BB app? Cuz I use it but I just call in to check my VMs so there's no memory needed for that obviously. Or I log into the web site from a desktop.
    IM BACK w/ a new BB 8220!

    Do you have the need for speed? Then drive it like you stole it!


    PIN me up @ 2576B06B

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by needforspd View Post
    The memory cleaner I believe is on 4.3OS and up. Cuz I have it on my 8130 and didnt on my previous 8830.

    Does YouMail have a BB app? Cuz I use it but I just call in to check my VMs so there's no memory needed for that obviously. Or I log into the web site from a desktop.
    Thanks. I could've sworn they said it was for all devices, which would be nice. I'm downloading the most current OS for my Curve right now, but it's only 4.2.2.184.

    I don't believe there is any YouMail app that gets loaded on the device, but I was curious because my free memory has gone down to about 12mb recently and I'm not sure why.

  10. #10
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    A prgm that would monitor and allow app. shut-dwn would be a very appealing feature for the next-gen BB user...hint-hint!
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    Leetneo's Avatar
    Leetneo no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    316D16C7
    Posts
    712
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~^^^^^yes***

  12. #12
    perrin's Avatar
    perrin no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    I read in another thread that there's an option on all devices to clean the memory. Their instructions were to go to Options>General Options>etc, but I have no such options on my Curve. Do any of you know where this utility is?
    On my 8130, it's under Options>Security>Memory Cleaning

  13. #13
    jawbrkr's Avatar
    jawbrkr no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    21601754
    Posts
    170
    I had memory cleaner when i was on OS 4.2.2.184. As for an app to manage memory, you might want to checkout memoryup. Its a BB RAM Booster. I have it on my BB. You can find it here http://www.pda4x.com/read.php?tid=56621&fpage=2. You have to register to be able to dload though. Hope its what you are looking for.
    मुझे इस बात की और हमेशा की जा!

  14. #14
    josephcaraccio's Avatar
    josephcaraccio no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    31a987a7
    Posts
    180
    Quote Originally Posted by needforspd View Post
    This would be sooo helpful. Would keep me from going alt-race every hour to check my memory and see how much has leaked.
    alt - what?

  15. #15
    josephcaraccio's Avatar
    josephcaraccio no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    31a987a7
    Posts
    180
    Quote Originally Posted by ma077146 View Post
    This is a topic of some debate among BlackBerry users. There are a few products that claim to manage your memory, but there are many that also say it's a bunch of hooey.

    You may find an article by RIM interesting; it talks about how to determine how much memory you actually have:

    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/dynam...C&kcId=KB15345
    Thats the most rediculous thing i've ever heard. You have to do all that to find out how much memory you have!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •