Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 38

i dont even see the memory cleaning option on my phone (8100). where do i ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #16
    corlissak's Avatar
    corlissak no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    204D9084
    Posts
    92

    Advertisement



    i dont even see the memory cleaning option on my phone (8100). where do i look?
    ~Strong Believer in Karma~

  2. #17
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    It should be options, security, then you should have memory cleaning. But I have a 8130. I don't know if the 8100 has it or not. What os are you running? I had 4.3 os an mine and it was there. I just up graded to a beta 4.5 yesterday and still have it. I belive there is a official 4.5 for the 8100 and I would assume that that os would have it. I could be wrong though.




    Quote Originally Posted by corlissak View Post
    i dont even see the memory cleaning option on my phone (8100). where do i look?

  3. #18
    corlissak's Avatar
    corlissak no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    204D9084
    Posts
    92
    i fugured it out thanks! but im scared to do it. lol, i dnt wanna lose anything on my phone
    ~Strong Believer in Karma~

  4. #19
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    You won't lose anything important. The only time you may want to save the info is if you are having problems then the info there can help tech support with troubleshooting.

    Edit: Reading too many threads at once, this (mentioned above)is talking about alt lglg like gixxerjoe mentioned below. And the memory cleaner doesn't wipe your phones memory or anything, it just cleans up a little. Each thing you do on your BB kind of leaves a trail, and there are little crumbs cluttering up your memory. The cleaner just sweeps away the crumbs and cleans things up a bit.
    Last edited by azstar; 08-10-2008 at 12:36 PM.
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  5. #20
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    Another thing you can do to gain a little more memory is press and hold your alt then press shift lglg. That will bring you to your event logs. You can clear those out too. And free up a little more memory. That was another great little trick I learned here on pinstack!~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #21
    goneinaflash's Avatar
    goneinaflash no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    32
    I have an 8310 with 4.2 and no cleaning option under security options.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #22
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    what are the options listed in security?
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  8. #23
    jforce1's Avatar
    jforce1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    58

    Thumbs up thanks everyone

    Quote Originally Posted by gixxerjoe View Post
    Another thing you can do to gain a little more memory is press and hold your alt then press shift lglg. That will bring you to your event logs. You can clear those out too. And free up a little more memory. That was another great little trick I learned here on pinstack!~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Thank you everyone for the responses and info. I didn't know about the shortcut above for clearing event logs. Thanks for that

    Its too bad that the memory cleaning option can't be enabled by default. I knew about the icon on the home screen and I use it all the time...when I remember to enable it after a reset.

    Anyway, I hope this thread helped some people out. I know it helped me. I can't wait for the Bold which has much more onboard memory than my Pearl. I hear its coming here to Canada on August 19.

  9. #24
    goneinaflash's Avatar
    goneinaflash no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    32
    General settings, application permissions, certificate servers, certificates, firewall, key stores, software tokens, TLS, WTLS

    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    what are the options listed in security?

  10. #25
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Weird...I wonder why that's missing.....I'm gonna look into it though....
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  11. #26
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    My security options read as follows.
    General Settings
    Application Permissions
    Certificate Servers
    Certificates
    Firewall
    Keystores
    MEMORY CLEANING
    Software Tokens Tls
    Wtls

    I don't know if everbody else is in the same order I would just assume it would be. By the way good explanation of how the memory cleaner picks up little crumbs azstar. Makes a lot of sence.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #27
    goneinaflash's Avatar
    goneinaflash no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Weird...I wonder why that's missing.....I'm gonna look into it though....
    I would appreciate that. It seems like I have all the other options. I'm a BIS, not BES, user if that makes a difference.

    Thanks again AZSTAR

  13. #28
    Bnorwood1's Avatar
    Bnorwood1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    24718CA7
    Posts
    141
    The 8310 didn't have memory cleaning on 4.2, is that what you are running? I didn't have it on 4.2 then upgraded to 4.5 and got that option.
    "That was why I had got into my car and headed West, because when you don't like it where you are you always go West. We have always gone West." - Jack Burden

  14. #29
    gritsinct's Avatar
    gritsinct no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    491
    jforce1, when you say you have to enable it after reset - what type of reset are you talking about? I have an 8100 and now an 8120 also, and I can do a hard or soft reset and I still have the memory cleaner enabled. It's strange that yours keeps resetting!

  15. #30
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Gritsinct, do you have content protection enabled on your bb?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •