Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 38

Hi all. Happy Olympics. Not an urgent question, but this is something someone might be ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    jforce1's Avatar
    jforce1 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    58

    Smile Memory Cleaning

    Advertisement



    Hi all. Happy Olympics. Not an urgent question, but this is something someone might be able to help me with.

    As some of you know, there is a memory cleaning utility in security options. I like it and use it often. The only problem is that it is disabled by default. So if I reset my Pearl, I have to remember to go back into options--> security options--> memory cleaning and enable it again.

    Like I said, not a huge deal. But if someone knows how to enable this by default or any other keyboard shortcut or something to do a quick memory clean, I would love to hear from you.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    what does this do?

  3. #3
    Bnorwood1's Avatar
    Bnorwood1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    24718CA7
    Posts
    141
    I was also wondering what it does...

  4. #4
    Rrupert's Avatar
    Rrupert no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    238E3391
    Posts
    59
    is it like some sort of brainwashing?
    lol

  5. #5
    thechadj's Avatar
    thechadj no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    690
    Not sure if you can enable it as default but from your otions screen in the memory cleaner there is an option to put "icon on home screen"

    I am on 4.5.0.66 and its in my memory cleaner as an option. That way you can just click the icon from your home screen and it does a quick memory clean @ that time.
    Hope that helps a bit. Regards cHAd ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    This is true you can set a icon on your home screen. And clean your memory at will, but if you do a battery pull then it automatically will disable memory cleaning and you have to go back in re-enable it. To my knowledge there is no getting around that.



    Quote Originally Posted by thechadj View Post
    Not sure if you can enable it as default but from your otions screen in the memory cleaner there is an option to put "icon on home screen"

    I am on 4.5.0.66 and its in my memory cleaner as an option. That way you can just click the icon from your home screen and it does a quick memory clean @ that time.
    Hope that helps a bit. Regards cHAd ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    is it a secret as to what it does?

  8. #8
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Here's a link to RIM's site explaining the memory cleaner:

    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...200%2081373661
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  9. #9
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    az usual.....az to the rescue!

  10. #10
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    If you go to options, security, memory cleaning, and scroll to the bottom it showes you what all it cleans. Like one of the things is your clipboard, and so on.



    Quote Originally Posted by catstide View Post
    is it a secret as to what it does?

  11. #11
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    Quote Originally Posted by gixxerjoe View Post
    If you go to options, security, memory cleaning, and scroll to the bottom it showes you what all it cleans. Like one of the things is your clipboard, and so on.
    on mine when i get to memory cleaning it just gives the disable/enable option...no scrolling down.

  12. #12
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Once you enable it you will see the list
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  13. #13
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    Quote Originally Posted by catstide View Post
    on mine when i get to memory cleaning it just gives the disable/enable option...no scrolling down.
    never mind....you have to enable to see the scroll down.thanks

  14. #14
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Once you enable it you will see the list
    ha...you beat me

  15. #15
    gixxerjoe's Avatar
    gixxerjoe no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    702
    You guys are fast at responding. Lol I was gonna post the same and there was already three posts. Lol~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •