I'm on my second 8100, having had a 7100 before that and I've noticed a ... General Blackberry forum

ITD
    ITD no está en línea Stack level 1

Keylock not engaging properly

Advertisement

I'm on my second 8100, having had a 7100 before that and I've noticed a problem with this one that I haven't seen before.

I keep my Pearl in my top shirt pocket all the time, so I'm in the habit of putting the key lock on automatically before putting it away. This was fine with the old one, but with this new one around 50% of the time despite the lock appearing to have come on, when I take it out again later I find that the lock is off. This has led to all sorts of nonsense e-mails or random phone calls.

At first I thought I'd just been clumsy, but its happening all the time and since I owned another Pearl for a year before getting this one I know how it should be working. just to stress, I've been a BB user and administrator for several years now, so I know what I'm doing!

What's more, I've just had one of my users complain that the same thing is happening on thier Curve as well! (hence I've posted here rather than in a model specific forum).

The only difference I can see between my new Pearl and the old one is the carrier. I was on Orange (UK) at my old company, where as we use O2 here. We had about 50 BBs of various models at the old place and never had a single complaint like this, whereas here I've got two dodgy ones (that I know of) out of 15 here. As quite a few of them use holsters (8800) I suspect they would be immune to the problem though.

Anyone have any ideas? It's driving me absolutely nuts!

Sci-Tek no está en línea Stack level 4

Re: Keylock not engaging properly

Autolock at http://www.geekandproud.net/ , is a nice tool for auto keyboard lock. works fine here.

Dunno if that will solve your problem tho, but when I take away the pearl I always hold the * key for 2 sec (at idle screen) and it will lock. Maybe this is something you can use also?

ITD