Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hi all, I have downloaded the irc client onto my blackberry and followed the setup ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    Amnesia180's Avatar
    Amnesia180 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    253CA5BC
    Posts
    25

    invalid tunnel name on irc chat

    Advertisement



    Hi all,

    I have downloaded the irc client onto my blackberry and followed the setup instructions but it just keeps saying "invalid tunnel name"

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Dan

  2. #2
    vince1's Avatar
    vince1 no está en línea Community Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    3,676
    Have you set up your APN?
    You find it under Options / Advanced Options / TCP
    If you do a search here for APN you should find the settings for your carrier.
    Check with your carrier doesn't charge extra for using this.
    Once you do that you should be good to go

  3. #3
    Amnesia180's Avatar
    Amnesia180 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    253CA5BC
    Posts
    25
    Thanks for your help.
    I called o2 who have said the APN settings should already be on my phone.

    They then asked for the server I am trying to connect to, I have them wielessirc.fs.net. They checked my account and said I haven't set it up as an email address which is my it will not work!

    How do I add the server to my carrier?

    I have searched the forum for o2 APN settings but have had no luck.

    Any further help on this would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks in advance,
    Amnesia

  4. #4
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440
    Quote Originally Posted by Amnesia180 View Post
    Thanks for your help.
    I called o2 who have said the APN settings should already be on my phone.

    They then asked for the server I am trying to connect to, I have them wielessirc.fs.net. They checked my account and said I haven't set it up as an email address which is my it will not work!

    How do I add the server to my carrier?

    I have searched the forum for o2 APN settings but have had no luck.

    Any further help on this would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks in advance,
    Amnesia
    Are you using an unlocked BB?

  5. #5
    Amnesia180's Avatar
    Amnesia180 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    253CA5BC
    Posts
    25
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    No, I am using a BB supplied by o2

  6. #6
    vince1's Avatar
    vince1 no está en línea Community Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    3,676
    Try here or put open.internet into the APN settings. Make sure your not being charged for this!!!!

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...-settings.html

  7. #7
    Amnesia180's Avatar
    Amnesia180 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    253CA5BC
    Posts
    25
    Thanks for the replies.

    I tried your suggestion, unfortunately this did not work.

    After calling o2 AGAIN... They said they can't help me and I must figure it out myself if I want to use it.

    However, after searching on the internet, I found out my APN settings are wap.o2.co.uk

    It seems to work!

  8. #8
    vince1's Avatar
    vince1 no está en línea Community Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    3,676
    I find it strange that 02 would not give you the APN settings!!!!!
    At least you got sorted in the end.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •