Results 1 to 11 of 11

how do we know if a PIN is registered or not? thanks... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    RotKT's Avatar
    RotKT no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    how to verify a PIN availability?

    Advertisement



    how do we know if a PIN is registered or not?
    thanks

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    I ALWAYS call the carrier with the PIN before purchasing a used device.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    RotKT's Avatar
    RotKT no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    i was on the phone with a CSR for about 45min but that didnt help.
    i even called blackberry but no help either

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    What carrier is the phone branded to?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    RotKT's Avatar
    RotKT no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    it's AT&T branded 8120

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Well AT&T Blackberry support should be able to tell you if the PIN is available. Failing that, you might make a trip to the local AT&T store.

    One other idea...do you have Blackberry Service on your account? If so, add/change the device PIN and see what happens!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    RotKT's Avatar
    RotKT no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    im with tmobile and AT&T can't help.
    and i dont have bb service since i dont have a bb phone

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Try calling TMO Blackberry support and give them the PIN, I bet they can check it for you. Is the phone already unlocked?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #9
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Try calling TMO Blackberry support and give them the PIN, I bet they can check it for you. Is the phone already unlocked?

    Doesn't always work. We just activated the boss in an at&t Bold on T-mobile and it took multiple calls over 2 weeks before getting transferred to BB tech support. We ended up with a problem that the BIS was not activating on T-Mobile's side (despite the account saying it was active) due to the PIN being locked onto an at&t account. 10 minutes on the phone with BB Tech Support found the cause of the issue and resolved it. I think the only one's outside of BB that could tell him are going to be at&t but they most likely won't since he isn't their customer (as he stated).

    Zo

  10. #10
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    So....best bet would be to add BB Data Plan and try to add the device BEFORE purchase? Would he know at once if the PIN was already registered?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  11. #11
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    We didn't find out until afterwards. The problem we ran into was with the addition of the BB service to his account (moved him from a Razor). The good news is that RIM had no issues and they offered to move the PIN from at&t without us having to ask/beg/plead. He has been a T-Mobile customer for over 7 years and that may be why they did that. If he hasn't been with them for long, I don't see them helping as much but you never know. T-Mobile customer/tech support had no idea why the BIS wouldn't activate but it made sense once we spoke with RIM. Once they moved the PIN over, he was up and running almost immediately.

    Zo.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •