View Poll Results: How many times do you wipe to debug and test your BB

Voters
108. Register free to vote on this poll
  • Once a Month

    11 10.19%
  • Twice a Month

    4 3.70%
  • Once every 3 months

    9 8.33%
  • Once a Year

    9 8.33%
  • None of the Above

    75 69.44%
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 51

Ok, let me be a bit more clear on this. I am backing up my ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    JDWired's Avatar
    JDWired no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3156B31E
    Posts
    663

    How many times do you security wipe your device?

    Advertisement



    Ok, let me be a bit more clear on this. I am backing up my BB to do some testing on the backend for bugs and etc. Do any of you do this to so that your BB is compatible with downloads and upgrades, plus to keep it running smooth?
    Last edited by JDWired; 07-01-2007 at 04:52 PM.
    Search Flex - Directory of SEO Services

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    are you talking about wiping the device from the security menu? or using javaloader to wipe it completely?

    i've used both and i don't do either unless i HAVE to

  3. #3
    JDWired's Avatar
    JDWired no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3156B31E
    Posts
    663

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    Should've added that in there lol. Yes security wipe
    Search Flex - Directory of SEO Services

  4. #4
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    i'll stick to my original answer that if you don't have to wipe, then don't

  5. #5
    JDWired's Avatar
    JDWired no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3156B31E
    Posts
    663

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    Agreed. My collgue wipes his BB (but backs it up) every month and does testing on the backend of it for JVM errors and sotware bugs, complete BB genious, so he showed me how to do it and it's pretty cool.. way to technical for me, but I'm learnig.
    Search Flex - Directory of SEO Services

  6. #6
    jgirly2's Avatar
    jgirly2 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,429

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    To be honest, I really don't know the diffrence between a wipe and a soft reset. Being I am a BB newbie, its just safer for me to stay away from those until I feel more comfortable with my BB, but than again if someone could help me to understand than that will be greatly appreciated.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    jgirly - a wipe from the security menu will return your bb to factory settings ... just like when you brought him home

    the soft reset, aka battery pull, will remove 'some' errors, but won't get them all - which is what the device wipe is for.

    you really don't need to do a wipe unless you are having issues.

  8. #8
    jgirly2's Avatar
    jgirly2 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,429
    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo
    jgirly - a wipe from the security menu will return your bb to factory settings ... just like when you brought him home

    the soft reset, aka battery pull, will remove 'some' errors, but won't get them all - which is what the device wipe is for.

    you really don't need to do a wipe unless you are having issues.
    Thank you so much for the above info. All this time I actually was doing a "soft reset/battery pull". Thanks again!

  9. #9
    tfrankson's Avatar
    tfrankson no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2845FBAD
    Posts
    968

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    I have found a need to wipe my device as yet.

  10. #10
    fritter's Avatar
    fritter no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    942

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    no need to wipe.

  11. #11
    audit's Avatar
    audit no está en línea BES Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    241

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    I never have a need to wipe mine. I back it up about 1 time a week and keep that backup in a PGP encrypted folder. Even though mine's hooked up to my BES at work, I still have 3 other BIS accounts on it and I control what can and can't be done on the BB's.
    audit
    -
    Want to be the one of first people to know about RIM outages? Visit http://www.dataoutages.com


  12. #12
    dts51's Avatar
    dts51 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask ;-)
    Posts
    346

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    My answer, given those choices, would have to be "none of the above"... I will wipe my BB Only as a last resort when all else has failed.

  13. #13
    jonnychiro's Avatar
    jonnychiro no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    I am moving on--if it gets to the point when I must "wipe" my phone.
    '

  14. #14
    StarmanDX's Avatar
    StarmanDX no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    32B010CC
    Posts
    45

    Re: How many times do you wipe your device?

    I only wipe it to install OS upgrades. Then I restore from a backup anyway,

  15. #15
    takeshi's Avatar
    takeshi no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,305

    Re: How many times do you security wipe your device?

    Quote Originally Posted by Reno84
    How many times do you wipe to debug and test your BB
    I've never really had to over the years. I've done a wipe or two for troubleshooting but the wipe didn't help in either case (issue was from an app, etc). The only time I regularly perform wipes are when getting rid of old BB's.

    Technically, an OS upgrade includes a device wipe but I'm not really counting those.

    There's really no need to wipe your device to keep it running smoothly. I'm a heavy email and web user and I use a number of apps and I am always testing out new apps. As I've said, I've never needed to wipe any of mine (including 5 former models) to keep them running smoothly.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •