Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

I've seen alot of posts about updating OS. I've never updated my OS before and ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    sugarspicebaby1's Avatar
    sugarspicebaby1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    216

    Question How do you update OS?

    Advertisement



    I've seen alot of posts about updating OS. I've never updated my OS before and was wondering how you do it, if it's automatic, necessary, etc. I have a Pearl with 4.2.1.96 on it and use it for basic e-mail, pdf, txt, IM, etc. Can you guys enlighten me as to the details behind all this? Thanks!

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Posted by bluefairy1971 in another thread......very concise:

    Instructions for updating your BlackBerry OS

    1. Make sure you have the latest version of Desktop Manager 4.3 installed.
    2. Download the latest OS for your BlackBerry model to the PC then install it to the PC by running the file you downloaded.
    3. Go to \Program Files\Common Files\Research in Motion\AppLoader and DELETE the Vendor.xml file.
    4. Plug in your BlackBerry via USB and Open Desktop Manager. You should be prompted to upgrade.
    This could take anywhere from 30-60 minutes.

  3. #3
    sugarspicebaby1's Avatar
    sugarspicebaby1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    216
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ one problem I guess I should have mentioned-I have a Mac so no desktop manager I use Missing Sync? Is there a way to do it on a Mac?

  4. #4
    tgeekb's Avatar
    tgeekb no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    2102EF9F
    Posts
    669
    No. It has to be done on a PC as far as I know.
    Never wanted to be a simple man...

  5. #5
    sugarspicebaby1's Avatar
    sugarspicebaby1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    216
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~that stinks because trying to find someone-where to install and use desktop manager for just that will be a pain! I wish RIM would acknowledge Mac users and make a version of desktop manager for us!

  6. #6
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Quote Originally Posted by sugarspicebaby1 View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com I wish RIM would acknowledge Mac users and make a version of desktop manager for us!
    That is a bummer, don't have a Mac myself, but you would think RIM would have changed that a while back.

    Can you run Windows on your Mac at all? (full install or emulation perhaps)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  7. #7
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

  8. #8
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Boot Camp, run Windows on MAc
    http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/bootcamp.html
    "Leopard is the world’s most advanced operating system. So advanced, it even lets you run Windows if there’s a PC application you need to use. Just get a copy of Windows and start up Boot Camp, now included with Leopard. Setup is simple and straightforward — just as you’d expect with a Mac."
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  9. #9
    sugarspicebaby1's Avatar
    sugarspicebaby1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    216
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ does it matter what version of windows? bc I actually just upgraded to Leopard!

  10. #10
    gkast1's Avatar
    gkast1 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    244F596F
    Posts
    2,381
    Has anybody verified that using Boot Camp you can run Windows RIM Desktop Manager AND have the device drivers operate properly?

  11. #11
    sugarspicebaby1's Avatar
    sugarspicebaby1 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    216
    Quote Originally Posted by gkast1 View Post
    Has anybody verified that using Boot Camp you can run Windows RIM Desktop Manager AND have the device drivers operate properly?
    It would be great to find out all the details of using BootCamp to do this if someone (IT professional, forum pro) is willing to investigate the specifics

  12. #12
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    More info about Boot camp. Be careful it seems http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ad.php?t=72720
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  13. #13
    Dubdub's Avatar
    Dubdub no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23FEFDC4
    Posts
    653
    My advice is that if your device is working fine and you have no problems or bugs, then there is no real need to upgrade the OS. This is especially true if you are new to BBs in general or are afraid of such major surgery. You can really screw up your device if you aren't careful.
    Business Performance Improvement Specialist

    Helping you put the Business Puzzle together - Strategy, Marketing, Sales and Financial Management

  14. #14
    tgeekb's Avatar
    tgeekb no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    2102EF9F
    Posts
    669
    I agree with Dubdub. Unless you know what you are doing, stay with what you have if it is working properly. Your only other choice is to make a Blackberry friend close by who will update the OS for you.
    Never wanted to be a simple man...

  15. #15
    backdraft999's Avatar
    backdraft999 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    20C8618D
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by gkast1 View Post
    Has anybody verified that using Boot Camp you can run Windows RIM Desktop Manager AND have the device drivers operate properly?
    I don't use Boot Camp on my Mac, I bought a program called Parallels. It allowed me to install my copy of XP on my Mac and run them both simultaneously. And yes, Desktop Manager will run and I even upgraded my BB to OS 4.5 recently.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •