Results 1 to 11 of 11

I have searched the threads but can't find the answer - sorry if this has ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    karen898's Avatar
    karen898 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    53

    How do I restore a device to factory condition?

    Advertisement



    I have searched the threads but can't find the answer - sorry if this has been discussed.

    My old BB was a Pearl that had my corporate and personal e-mail on it. I had my corporate stuff disabled on it and enabled on my Curve. My corportion's IT guys confirmed the switch and then gave me my BES password so I could start using the Curve.

    I want to let my kids use the Pearl to play Brickbreaker, or until one of them wants it as their phone, so I tried to clear all of the data and remove the BlackBerry Enterprise Server stuff on it by wiping it. All that did was to get rid of my contacts and calendar entries. The BES stuff is still there, showing my corporation's IT policy name. When I tried to disable the password prompt, the field was set to "enabled" and it cannot be changed to "disabled".

    So whenever my kids fire up the Pearl, it always prompts for a password before they are able to play with the phone, and I suspect it is because of my corporation's security policy, which I thought was removed from my phone. How do I get it off? I basically want the Pearl go back to how it was when it came right out of the box. Does anyone have any suggestions???

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Try this.
    In my Blog you will find a link to Lava Girls How To use JL_Cmder. Download and install it on your PC. When connected to your device, you should have an option to "restore to factory settings"
    If you do not have that option, you may need to upgrade your device OS. I believe you must be running 4.5 on your device in order for this to work.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    karen898's Avatar
    karen898 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    53
    Thanks, Gary, I'll try that. Yes, the Pearl is running on 4.5.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    3198998E
    Posts
    210
    Hey Karen, have you tried wiping the handheld? Go to options, security, general, hit menu and wipe handheld. That should put it back to right out of the box condition. Assuming that you know all the passwords that is.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  5. #5
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Quote Originally Posted by metalroger View Post
    Hey Karen, have you tried wiping the handheld? Go to options, security, general, hit menu and wipe handheld. That should put it back to right out of the box condition. Assuming that you know all the passwords that is.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Yeah all that will do is just wipe the personal information...it will usually leave IT policies on there. It's better to start with a clean slate and wipe it completely.

  6. #6
    mylinuxbox's Avatar
    mylinuxbox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    122
    the JLCmder way is the quickest way of deleting the IT policy and getting rid of the firewall.

    Worked in a couple of seconds on both my 8700g and my 8120.
    Pin - 20683AD4


    If at first you do succeed, try not to look so astonished.
    Children need to feel secure, so strap them down whenever possible.

  7. #7
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    N if you need anyone to walkthrough loading an OS with ya, hit us back...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    3198998E
    Posts
    210
    Ok, cool. Now I've learned something too.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  9. #9
    karen898's Avatar
    karen898 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by metalroger View Post
    Hey Karen, have you tried wiping the handheld? Go to options, security, general, hit menu and wipe handheld. That should put it back to right out of the box condition. Assuming that you know all the passwords that is.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    I had already wiped my Pearl before posting this thread.

    I know what I need to do now. Thanks, all!

  10. #10
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Quote Originally Posted by metalroger View Post
    Ok, cool. Now I've learned something too.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Stick around n the learning will keep comin Metal...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    Sharky147's Avatar
    Sharky147 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    111
    I think in most cases the password is "blackberry" to wipe handset. That is what my fiance does and he used to work for AT&T. He has done this to every BB we need to wipe and it works.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •