Results 1 to 11 of 11

Ok I have the 8320 with curve with TMO...but for the life of me I ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    butterfly2's Avatar
    butterfly2 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    7FFBC4F3
    Posts
    1,339

    Help with bb maps!!

    Advertisement



    Ok I have the 8320 with curve with TMO...but for the life of me I cant get the maps/gps whatever to work....I have BB Locator and it never sends my GPS coordinates!! Do I have everythng set up correctly?? No matter which tracking GPS system I use I can never get a lock on my position vis the bb!! When I go to options>advance options>GPS Data Source it says none....any feedback will be great thanks
    A woman's heart should be so hidden in Christ that a man should have to seek Him first to find her.
    Maya Angelou

  2. #2
    siccmade's Avatar
    siccmade no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    687

    Re: Help with bb maps!!

    try going to settings,advanced,tcp,apn, then put wap.voicestream.com and save
    the 8320 is only wifi enabled not gps.
    TMO:MYTOUCH 3G SLIDE
    ROM:SlideMeRoot5r1
    KERNEL:2.6.29-5F8ED14

  3. #3
    cjcarbone's Avatar
    cjcarbone no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    not anym
    Posts
    249

    Re: Help with bb maps!!

    yea, for the 8320, you need to get a GPS "puck", that is, a bluetooth GPS reciever. THe 8320 is Wi-Fi enabled, and doesn't have an internal GPS

  4. #4
    siccmade's Avatar
    siccmade no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    687

    Re: Help with bb maps!!

    Quote Originally Posted by cjcarbone View Post
    yea, for the 8320, you need to get a GPS "puck", that is, a bluetooth GPS reciever. THe 8320 is Wi-Fi enabled, and doesn't have an internal GPS
    witch really sux!! i wish they would give use both gps and wifi
    TMO:MYTOUCH 3G SLIDE
    ROM:SlideMeRoot5r1
    KERNEL:2.6.29-5F8ED14

  5. #5
    cjcarbone's Avatar
    cjcarbone no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    not anym
    Posts
    249

    Re: Help with bb maps!!

    I wish ATT offered the same Wi-Fi as TMo, but with the new Starbucks/ATT deal, maybe they will!!!!!

  6. #6
    butterfly2's Avatar
    butterfly2 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    7FFBC4F3
    Posts
    1,339

    Re: Help with bb maps!!

    Quote Originally Posted by siccmade View Post
    witch really sux!! i wish they would give use both gps and wifi
    My TCP setting is already set to wap.voicestream.com...thanks can u think of anythng else? Lol
    A woman's heart should be so hidden in Christ that a man should have to seek Him first to find her.
    Maya Angelou

  7. #7
    siccmade's Avatar
    siccmade no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    687

    Re: Help with bb maps!!

    Quote Originally Posted by cjcarbone View Post
    I wish ATT offered the same Wi-Fi as TMo, but with the new Starbucks/ATT deal, maybe they will!!!!!
    i hate you. starbucks was our deal lol jk
    TMO:MYTOUCH 3G SLIDE
    ROM:SlideMeRoot5r1
    KERNEL:2.6.29-5F8ED14

  8. #8
    siccmade's Avatar
    siccmade no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    687

    Re: Help with bb maps!!

    the only thing i could think of is using a bluetooth gps device previously described
    TMO:MYTOUCH 3G SLIDE
    ROM:SlideMeRoot5r1
    KERNEL:2.6.29-5F8ED14

  9. #9
    butterfly2's Avatar
    butterfly2 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    7FFBC4F3
    Posts
    1,339

    Re: Help with bb maps!!

    Quote Originally Posted by siccmade View Post
    try going to settings,advanced,tcp,apn, then put wap.voicestream.com and save
    the 8320 is only wifi enabled not gps.
    So that means bb locators will never work for me then it wont send location!! and my TCP is set already to wap.voicestream.com..thanks!
    A woman's heart should be so hidden in Christ that a man should have to seek Him first to find her.
    Maya Angelou

  10. #10
    siccmade's Avatar
    siccmade no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    687

    Re: Help with bb maps!!

    google maps has the same locator, i use it just fine on my tmo 8320, try downloading it via bb and see if that works
    TMO:MYTOUCH 3G SLIDE
    ROM:SlideMeRoot5r1
    KERNEL:2.6.29-5F8ED14

  11. #11
    cjcarbone's Avatar
    cjcarbone no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    not anym
    Posts
    249

    Re: Help with bb maps!!

    if you use google maps, i think it works off your cell signal to give you an approximate position, but its usually a long way off, but to get a true GPS position, you'd need a bluetooth receiver. Check out the Freedom keychain puck, I've heard good thinks about it

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •