Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Can someone please tell me? I found a great deal on a unlocked bb curve ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    Caii's Avatar
    Caii no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    38

    HELP! what unlocked phones can be activated on SPrint???

    Advertisement



    Can someone please tell me? I found a great deal on a unlocked bb curve and i want to know which carrier phones are useable on sprint.

    please & thanx
    lovin thee` 8330

  2. #2
    dubai_bb's Avatar
    dubai_bb no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    314
    if it says that its an unlocked gsm phone its not going to work on sprint

  3. #3
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Sprint carries the 8330 curve. That's what you would need.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    Caii's Avatar
    Caii no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Sprint carries the 8330 curve. That's what you would need.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I can't seem to find a good deal on a sprint one.

    and also i thought 8330 were CDMA
    lovin thee` 8330

  5. #5
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Yes, the Sprint Curves are CDMA


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    Caii's Avatar
    Caii no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Yes, the Sprint Curves are CDMA


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    just sprint curves?? dang....but the 8830 i have has gsm also, so why cant another gsm phone be used? btw my 8830 has a SIM card but i havent tried taking it out
    lovin thee` 8330

  7. #7
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Verizon, Sprint, Alltel, US Cellular and more are CDMA. They do not use SIM cards in their Curves or Pearls....just the 8830 world edition BBs use a SIM.(Just taking about CDMA carriers)

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    Caii's Avatar
    Caii no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Verizon, Sprint, Alltel, US Cellular and more are CDMA. They do not use SIM cards in their Curves or Pearls....just the 8830 world edition BBs use a SIM.(Just taking about CDMA carriers)

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    got ya. so if i got an unlocked phone fron another cdma carrier can it be activated on sprint? im sorry if you answered this before but i'm just trying to make 100% sure.
    lovin thee` 8330

  9. #9
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Yes, if you have Sprint as your carrier, an unlocked CDMA Curve 8330 will work. A GSM curve from ATT, T-Mobile, etc. will not work on Sprint's network.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    Caii's Avatar
    Caii no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Yes, if you have Sprint as your carrier, an unlocked CDMA Curve 8330 will work. A GSM curve from ATT, T-Mobile, etc. will not work on Sprint's network.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    ok thanx so much!!
    lovin thee` 8330

  11. #11
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    You're welcome.....good luck finding a good priced one!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    04Taco's Avatar
    04Taco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by azstar View Post
    Yes, if you have Sprint as your carrier, an unlocked CDMA Curve 8330 will work. A GSM curve from ATT, T-Mobile, etc. will not work on Sprint's network.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Actually, if the phone is not a Sprint labeled Curve (or any other phone), you will not be able to activate it. Sprint will not allow any foreign ESN (electronic serial number) on its network. Sprint has a database of all phones manufactured for them and if a phone is not in that database, they will not allow it to be activated.

  13. #13
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Really, is that something new? Not all that long ago I was thinking of switching to them and had one phone that was new and I was told at a Sprint store that I could get it unlocked and port it over to their network.

    Sorry to the OP if I have given incorrect info.....I guess that you should call Sprint to confirm their current policy.


    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    04Taco's Avatar
    04Taco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    113
    As long as I can remember it has been policy. It is Sprints way of controlling the type of phone that is using their network. All phones are tested and must pass certain tests before being allowed access to the network. This way, a customer can't bring another carriers untested phone on to the network and possibly complain about the service.

  15. #15
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    Sprint, Verizon, Alltell, Metro, and Cricket are now allowing approved unlocked devices on their network. You will have to jump through some hurdles to get it entered into their network. It is part of the new open-ended network that they are going to (after all the lawsuits in CA that is).

    Zo

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •