Results 1 to 7 of 7

i bought a blackberry 7100i and had a i305: tried to transfer the sim card ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    kevincolange's Avatar
    kevincolange no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3

    Lightbulb help help help

    Advertisement



    i bought a blackberry 7100i and had a i305:
    tried to transfer the sim card from my i305 into the blackberry and got sim card error - could not upload my contacts and the sim pin number read all zero's:
    I was sent a sim card with the phone but that does not connect but has a valid pin number...any thoughts or advice?

  2. #2
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661
    Hello kevin, welcome to pinstack.

    First you need to contact Nextel and have them activate the new sim card. You should be able to put your i305 sim card in your BB to at least load up all your numbers, they are both yellow. Let us know if you need further help.

  3. #3
    kevincolange's Avatar
    kevincolange no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by cp6169
    Hello kevin, welcome to pinstack.

    First you need to contact Nextel and have them activate the new sim card. You should be able to put your i305 sim card in your BB to at least load up all your numbers, they are both yellow. Let us know if you need further help.
    THANK YOU for responding so quickly as Nextel is closed today for the holidays - I tried putting my old sim card in and loading the address/contacts from that sim card to the BB but it says error and when I check the pin number for the old card it reads all 00000000 ..I replaced the old card in my old phone again and it works fine - on the old phone the i305 when turning on I have to give my passowrd but when I inserted it in the BB there was no promt either....

    Is the card not compatible?

    It looks white to me - even the new one that came with the phone?

    Your help is welcomed

  4. #4
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661
    The sim cards should both be yellow. If you have a white one then that would explain the error...

    I stress to you that you need to find a yellow card for your BB...

    Call this number, its 24/7... 18003907545

  5. #5
    kevincolange's Avatar
    kevincolange no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3
    nextel sent me this reply

    Thank you for contacting Nextel online Customer Care. Your account
    currently reflects no serial number at all and also a 32K sim chip. In
    order for your new Blackberry to function properly, you will need to call
    into our Customer Care department for a sim swap. The sim card error is
    mostly being caused by the sim card you are trying to use with your
    Blackberry. The Blackberry 7100 requires at least a 64k sim card in order
    to function properly and as previously stated on that phone is a 32k chip.
    Also in order for you to use any of the features on your Blackberry, it
    will need to be activated in our system, which it currently is not. The
    direct number to customer care is 888-566-6111.
    If you have any further questions or concerns, please reply to this
    email. If you require immediate assistance, please contact Customer Care
    at (888) 566-6111.

  6. #6
    gblanca's Avatar
    gblanca no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: help help help

    hELLO CP6169, AS I SEE YOU ARE THE EXPERT HERE....... PLEASE HELP ME....... I UPDATED THE OS OF MY NEXTEL BB 7100I AND NOW THERE IS A MESSAGE THAT SAYS "SIM CARD ERROR" ....NO SIGNAL ON MY PHONE AND IT IS MY WORKING TOOL....... PLEASE HELP ME URGENT!

  7. #7
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: help help help

    Thanks gblanca, there are many experts here on pinstack, I appreciate the kind words.

    Take out the battery and sim card, then hold down the power button for 30 seconds. Replace the sim and battery and your problem should be solved, making sure you are inserting the sim correctly.

    Any other questions please let us know...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •