Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hi There, We have a bunch of devices here, all of which cannot get EDGE, ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    GlobalBB's Avatar
    GlobalBB no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    76

    Question HELP!! Cannot Find Network Issues. SOS, Sometimes GSM, but never EDGE!

    Advertisement



    Hi There,

    We have a bunch of devices here, all of which cannot get EDGE, they sometimes get GSM, but never EDGE, Thus the devices are useless, as we cannot maje calls on them nor receive data, also they sometimes go to SOS aswell.

    anyone else seen this?

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: HELP!! Cannot Find Network Issues. SOS, Sometimes GSM, but never EDGE!

    Global,

    Where is "here"? Do you have any devices on the same network that recieve a proper signal in the same location?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    GlobalBB's Avatar
    GlobalBB no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    76

    Re: HELP!! Cannot Find Network Issues. SOS, Sometimes GSM, but never EDGE!

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Global,

    Where is "here"? Do you have any devices on the same network that recieve a proper signal in the same location?

    Yes, we have lots of other devices running on the same network, so we know its not a network issue, plus we have tried "good" sim cards in the other units and we get the same issues?

  4. #4
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: HELP!! Cannot Find Network Issues. SOS, Sometimes GSM, but never EDGE!

    is this occuring mostly with the 8320s?

  5. #5
    GlobalBB's Avatar
    GlobalBB no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    76

    Re: HELP!! Cannot Find Network Issues. SOS, Sometimes GSM, but never EDGE!

    Quote Originally Posted by glehman85 View Post
    is this occuring mostly with the 8320s?
    no, all 8700's

  6. #6
    rmarkowitz's Avatar
    rmarkowitz no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    24379323
    Posts
    109

    Re: HELP!! Cannot Find Network Issues. SOS, Sometimes GSM, but never EDGE!

    Quote Originally Posted by GlobalBB View Post
    Yes, we have lots of other devices running on the same network, so we know its not a network issue, plus we have tried "good" sim cards in the other units and we get the same issues?
    Where is here?

  7. #7
    GlobalBB's Avatar
    GlobalBB no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    76

    Re: HELP!! Cannot Find Network Issues. SOS, Sometimes GSM, but never EDGE!

    Quote Originally Posted by rmarkowitz View Post
    Where is here?
    Cayman Islands, all running on Cable and Wireless

  8. #8
    Murfunit's Avatar
    Murfunit no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: HELP!! Cannot Find Network Issues. SOS, Sometimes GSM, but never EDGE!

    Quote Originally Posted by GlobalBB View Post
    Yes, we have lots of other devices running on the same network, so we know its not a network issue, plus we have tried "good" sim cards in the other units and we get the same issues?
    If the known "working" SIMs behave the same way in the suspect handsets I'd venture a guess that you either have settings issues or bad equipment

    You said they're all on the same network. I'm assuming you mean network as in wireless carrier. And I assume you are testing the phones side by side, in the exact same location? Like at the same desk?

    Have you had your carrier resend service books to each of the bad phones? SIM cards are only a part of the problem. The way a BB works is different than other data phones. The BB support ppl with your carrier have things they can do to 'jumpstart' an errant BB

    What I would do is use the Desktop Manager to "Switch Devices" Start with a known working unit as the original device and use one of the suspect devices as the "new" device. Restore everything (except messages if you don't need those) and see what happens. What "Switch Device" does is lay down the exact same configuration from one phone to the other. That way any settings that may be 'off' on the suspect phones would be overwritten with the known working handset's settings

    If they still don't work properly you may have to go back to your carrier, or whoever you got them from, and swap them out. You may have gotten bad equipment?
    Je t'aime encore, Roguette

  9. #9
    GlobalBB's Avatar
    GlobalBB no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    76

    Re: HELP!! Cannot Find Network Issues. SOS, Sometimes GSM, but never EDGE!

    Quote Originally Posted by Murfunit View Post
    If the known "working" SIMs behave the same way in the suspect handsets I'd venture a guess that you either have settings issues or bad equipment

    You said they're all on the same network. I'm assuming you mean network as in wireless carrier. And I assume you are testing the phones side by side, in the exact same location? Like at the same desk?

    Have you had your carrier resend service books to each of the bad phones? SIM cards are only a part of the problem. The way a BB works is different than other data phones. The BB support ppl with your carrier have things they can do to 'jumpstart' an errant BB

    What I would do is use the Desktop Manager to "Switch Devices" Start with a known working unit as the original device and use one of the suspect devices as the "new" device. Restore everything (except messages if you don't need those) and see what happens. What "Switch Device" does is lay down the exact same configuration from one phone to the other. That way any settings that may be 'off' on the suspect phones would be overwritten with the known working handset's settings

    If they still don't work properly you may have to go back to your carrier, or whoever you got them from, and swap them out. You may have gotten bad equipment?



    Thanks for the great information. Iw ill try that and see what happens.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •