Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

HELP! I was in DM, doing some everyday maintenance: I unchecked/deselected two apps I no ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    o1sowise's Avatar
    o1sowise no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259

    Question HELP! Dead. Black screen, two blinking Red Lights

    Advertisement



    HELP!

    I was in DM, doing some everyday maintenance:
    1. I unchecked/deselected two apps I no longer wanted
    2. I added a new theme
    3. I downloaded this and ran the EXE. I fully expected the EXE to unzip something so I could pull it into DM, so DM was still up and opened, with the above stuff pending. Much to my surprise, when I ran the EXE, it made DM do things and before I knew it, the BB had a black screen, and was blinking red (twice). I've pulled the battery, and it comes back the same: no screen and two blinking red lights.
    HELP!

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Wise1,

    What happens when you connect to desktop manager?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    Man I hate when they do that. Try a Battery pull first. if that fails you will have to relaod the OS> Hopfuly you have a recent back up or Sync. Sync is better.
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  4. #4
    o1sowise's Avatar
    o1sowise no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    connect with it seemly dead?
    let's try and see.



    Edit: Well... the screen stayed black and the lights stopped blinking, and DM is telling me:
    All application data will be erased.

    All existing applications will be erased.

    Applications to be installed or updated:
    BlackBerry 4.2 System Software
    BlackBerry 4.2 Core Applications
    BlackBerry API Library
    BlackBerry Certificate Key Store Browser Library
    BlackBerry CMS Library
    BlackBerry Crypto 1 Library
    BlackBerry Crypto 2 Library
    BlackBerry Crypto 3 Library
    BlackBerry Crypto Applications API Library
    BlackBerry ECMAScript Library
    BlackBerry Key Store Browser Library
    BlackBerry LDAP Browser Library
    BlackBerry PGP Email Library
    BlackBerry PGP Key Store Browser Library
    BlackBerry PGP LDAP Browser
    BlackBerry PGP Library
    BlackBerry S/MIME Email Library
    BlackBerry Secure Email Library
    BlackBerry X.509 LDAP Browser
    BlackBerry XML Library
    Browser
    GSA CAC Smart Card Driver Library
    Phone
    PIV Smart Card Driver Library
    SafeNet 330 Smart Card Driver Library
    I guess I have no choice but to proceed, right?

    Also, the advanced screen shows me all of my 3rd party things.
    I assume I should load the Base OS, then to a Restore.
    OR should I install the 3rd party things now (right off the bat, then restore to get my data/options)?
    Last edited by o1sowise; 04-01-2008 at 03:56 PM.

  5. #5
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    Aye, even when apearing dead the DTM can save you , if it wont see it in the DTM, launch apploader, BEFORE pluging in the BB, wait till the connection page then plug it in. if that fails pull the battery at that time and put it back in, it will usally see it then you can reload the OS>

    I had the same thing happen, but I bricked it playing with trying to take the best form a couple differnat 8100 OSs. It wasn't pretty, lol, but I did it to myself at least.
    Last edited by pda.teck; 04-01-2008 at 02:10 PM.
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    I think thats about your only choice, unless you want to try downloading an upgraded OS with the hopes it will give you a back up screen, however something is corrupted so you might just be reinstalling a bad file. Keep us informed. (did you back up recently)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861
    Do what the DM is telling you. Worst case scenario, you get your BB back and have to reload all of the third party apps manually.

    If its not too bricked up, however, the OS reload should reinstall your 3d party apps.

    Good luck and keep us posted of your results!
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  8. #8
    o1sowise's Avatar
    o1sowise no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    I'm back. Here's what I ended up doing:
    1. Started DM
    2. Connected BB via USB
    3. Nothing.........
    4. Stopped DM
    5. Disconnected BB via USB
    6. Reconnected BB via USB
    7. Started DM
    8. After about a minute or two, DM told me it wanted to reload the OS
    9. Advanced showed me my 3rd Party Stuff, so I selected it
    10. I told DM to proceed
    11. DM said it was erasing the BB (still no BB outward sign of life)
    12. DM said it was reloading the BB, and finally the BB screen came on (the white connected screen that showed a picture of the BB connected to the PC)
    13. Reload completed
    14. BB rebooted
    15. Heavy Sigh
    16. Disconnected BB via USB
    17. Reconnected BB via USB
    18. Via DM, restored from a backup from 19 hours ago
    19. Weird, no 3rd Party apps were restored (Is AutoBackup different than LoaderBackup? Are either FULL backups, including 3rd Party and configuration options and content?)
    20. Stumped, even a 2nd full restore didn't restore any 3rd Party apps (e.g. Google, Viigo, etc.)
    21. Manually reloaded and reconfigured all 3rd Party Apps
    22. Complain to Handango about Aerize
    btw - after all that (after step 14), Aerize said the trial had already expired
    Last edited by o1sowise; 04-03-2008 at 09:12 AM.

  9. #9
    o1sowise's Avatar
    o1sowise no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    My Internet Browser is gone.
    I only have a WiFi Browser.
    Before the incident, I was able to toggle between WiFi, Internet and MediaNet.
    Now I only have WiFi.

    Any ideas?

    Clue:
    mobile.blackberry.com tells me that I'm not accessing it via a BlackBerry.
    When I jump go directly into the games section, it tells me:
    Sorry, no games are currently available for your BlackBerry device and OS.
    (BlackBerry nonBB, OS 0.0.0)
    Last edited by o1sowise; 04-02-2008 at 10:44 AM.

  10. #10
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    1. Weird, no 3rd Party apps were restored (Is AutoBackup different than LoaderBackup? Are either FULL backups, including 3rd Party and configuration options and content?)
    2. Stumped, even a 2nd full restore didn't restore any 3rd Party apps (e.g. Google, Viigo, etc.)
    autobackup does not backup 3rd party apps or SD card data at all. however the loader backup does.

  11. #11
    o1sowise's Avatar
    o1sowise no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by Virex View Post
    [/list]autobackup does not backup 3rd party apps or SD card data at all. however the loader backup does.
    Aaaaaaahhhhhh, now I find out...

    Is there a way to manually invoke a "full" backup?

  12. #12
    o1sowise's Avatar
    o1sowise no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by o1sowise View Post
    My Internet Browser is gone.
    I only have a WiFi Browser.
    Before the incident, I was able to toggle between WiFi, Internet and MediaNet.
    Now I only have WiFi.

    Any ideas?

    Clue:
    mobile.blackberry.com tells me that I'm not accessing it via a BlackBerry.
    When I jump go directly into the games section, it tells me:
    Sorry, no games are currently available for your BlackBerry device and OS.
    (BlackBerry nonBB, OS 0.0.0)
    Update: both of these issues "went away". Strange, I did a battery-pull last night and that did not fix it. This am, I used the Soft-Reset program and all seems back to normal.

    I'm still re-loading my apps. Good thing I have a spreadsheet with all the details (name, version, vendor, web location, OTA location, etc.).

  13. #13
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    Is there a way to manually invoke a "full" backup?
    there is a way to do it. go into the device transfer wizard and start a device backup. after the full backup is complete. cancel the wizard and save the temp file. that is essentially the only to get a full backup and save it.

  14. #14
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by o1sowise View Post
    Good thing I have a spreadsheet with all the details (name, version, vendor, web location, OTA location, etc.).
    I never thought about doing that after all of the BB's I've ever used. I have a bad memory of remembering where I got stuff and which version, etc so this will be a good idea if I come back to the BB sometime.


  15. #15
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    i suppose so. although i guess i have just used the device so much, all that info is just mentally retained

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •