Hey everyone, I am a complete newbie with Blackberries and have encountered a nasty problem ... General Blackberry forum

bigwavenv no está en línea Stack level 1

Help...Corrupt Software Driver

Hey everyone,

I am a complete newbie with Blackberries and have encountered a nasty problem with my Blackberry 7730. The software driver on the device is corrupted and ,as a result, the computer does not recognize the connection when I try to connect the device using a USB cable. I spoke to RIM technicians regarding this and they could not offer a solution. They said that I would need to reinstall the driver but that is not possible since I would need to connect the device to a computer to do so. Any suggestions?

hayden no está en línea Stack Mod

Re: Help...Corrupt Software Driver

try this:

Eliminate the handheld as the source of the problem.

Confirm the USB cable is properly connected to both the handheld and personal computer.
    Place the handheld in a working cradle on a different computer. If the handheld does not work, the problem might be the handheld.
    If you have BlackBerry Desktop Manager version 3.6 or earlier, verify the desktop and handheld software versions match. Contact your service provider to access the latest software version.
    Perform a hard reset on the handheld.

COM Port is Unavailable
    The COM port is unavailable.

Summary of Resolutions
    The following are possible resolutions for this problem. If none of the following resolve your problem, contact your service provider for information.

Eliminate Port Conflicts
    To eliminate the possibility of port conflicts, disable the following:

synchronization software used by other personal digital assistants (PDAs)
    ActiveSync (which monitors serial ports for a connected mobile device, making the port unavailable for other applications). To disable ActiveSync and free ports, ensure the Allow connection to this COM port check box is selected.
    anti-virus software
    fax software