Results 1 to 6 of 6

just need to find out if you can upload the latest device firmware to a ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    COR-Berry's Avatar
    COR-Berry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Question Firmware upgrade

    Advertisement



    just need to find out if you can upload the latest device firmware to a handheld wirelessly using BES?

  2. #2
    rpool's Avatar
    rpool no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    26

    Re: Firmware upgrade

    No.

    It requires the Desktop Manager, the firmware files, and a USB cable to load.

    I think Goodlink will do firmware upgrades wirelessly, but not BES.

  3. #3
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252

    Re: Firmware upgrade

    I have talked to BES admins that say they do it. You would have to talk directly to RIM for that, your Wireless provider, be it TMO, Cingular/At&t would not support it.
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  4. #4
    eviljonny's Avatar
    eviljonny no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    73

    Re: Firmware upgrade

    Yes, but you need to be a BES admin. Can push any number of applications and patches from the BES out to everyone or just a specific group og BB users. If you are not a BES admin then I assume you are trying to load the "firmware" OTA because you do not have local admin rights on your desktop. Baaad Boy!

  5. #5
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: Firmware upgrade

    I've never tried from our BES, I can push applications, but never has to push an OS.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    COR-Berry's Avatar
    COR-Berry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: Firmware upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by eviljonny
    Yes, but you need to be a BES admin. Can push any number of applications and patches from the BES out to everyone or just a specific group og BB users. If you are not a BES admin then I assume you are trying to load the "firmware" OTA because you do not have local admin rights on your desktop. Baaad Boy!
    I am the BES Admin as well as the device/handheld admin, I just need to upgrade some 7250 devices firmware from v4.0 to v4.1 (DST Patch), but some users don't like to let go of their device for just a few hours. Some are even 'afraid' about the new features/functionality the new firmware might bring upon.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •