Results 1 to 12 of 12

I was busy spring cleaning my PC via the good offices of "Add and Remove ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    jackeyres's Avatar
    jackeyres no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    19

    Duplicate Blackberry Software on my PC

    Advertisement



    I was busy spring cleaning my PC via the good offices of "Add and Remove Programs" when I came across 7 items of Blackberry software. I only have one phone, an 8900, with an 8310 as a spare. Is there any way I can remove any of the following, without compromising my BB desktop software performance:

    Blackberry Desktop Software 4.2.2
    Blakcberry Desktop Software 4.6
    Blackberry Desktop Software 4.6.1 for Blackberry 8900
    Blackberry Desktop Software 4.6.1 for Blackberry 8900 (yes twice)
    Blackberry Media Sync
    Blackberry v4.2.2 for the Blackberry 8310 Series Wireless Handheld
    Blackberry v4.2.2 for the Blackberry 8310 Series Wireless Handheld (two of them)

    Any advice gratefully received!

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Not sure why you have multiple copies of any of it.

    You should be able to remove the Desktop Software 4.4.2 safely if you're using 4.6. I would guess you could remove all of the other duplicates too.

    I double checked my p-c listings - I have 1 Desktop Software 4.6 installed and Device Software for 8100, 8320, 8330 and 8900 installed and I only have one copy of each. (I'm Win XP if that makes a difference.)

    The worst that could happen is that if you remove one copy it takes both for some reason and you'd have to start over and reinstall.

    Also that 4.2 device software is fairly old - you might consider upgrading to a newer one.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673

    y

    Remove them all except for one 4.2.2 for 8310 and one 4.6.1. I'm not sure what the media sync is so I would leave it till you find out if you use it or not.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Last edited by catstide; 06-07-2009 at 09:48 AM.

  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Media Sync is an application that Syncs your iTunes/Windows Media Player music files with your BlackBerry.

    I didn't know whether he used it or not either so I didn't mention it.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    wut?
    Posts
    6,673
    cool. I was slow and didn't see your first post or I wouldn't have posted at all.
    Quote Originally Posted by jblackfish View Post
    Media Sync is an application that Syncs your iTunes/Windows Media Player music files with your BlackBerry.

    I didn't know whether he used it or not either so I didn't mention it.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    jackeyres's Avatar
    jackeyres no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    19
    Thanks both.

    I'll go ahead an uninstall the unnecessary stuff. I seem to remember doing that a while ago and having to re-load the software I needed. I'll report back.

  7. #7
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by catstide View Post
    cool. I was slow and didn't see your first post or I wouldn't have posted at all.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    NP, Cat. Now you know what Media Sync is - I have it but haven't tried it - not much need since most of my listening is radio streaming.

    Quote Originally Posted by jackeyres View Post
    Thanks both.

    I'll go ahead an uninstall the unnecessary stuff. I seem to remember doing that a while ago and having to re-load the software I needed. I'll report back.
    Jack, Be aware that, if you have to uninstall/reinstall your Desktop Manager, I think it wipes out your device software too so you'll have to start all over. That might be a good opportunity to upgrade if you like. You can check the latest OS for your device here.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  8. #8
    jackeyres's Avatar
    jackeyres no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by jackeyres View Post
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Thanks very much. I got a few "only applies to software installed on this computer"
    messages
    and when I clicked on 4.6 it started a long install. So I'll download the latest software from the site you suggest. Confused by the other programs refusing to uninstall, saying they're not installed and yet taking up 80mb each of space on my PC.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  9. #9
    dgburns's Avatar
    dgburns no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    191
    I would uninstall ALL of them, run a registry cleaner such as CCleaner, and then install only ONE copy of Desktop Manager. The 4.6 DM will work with both of your phones, you do not need an old DM just for your old BB.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  10. #10
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    "Nowhere am I so desperately needed as among a shipload of illogical Humans." (Spock)

  11. #11
    jackeyres's Avatar
    jackeyres no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    19
    Thanks for your help. I followed your instructions and then installed the latest software (4.7). Everything running well now.

  12. #12
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Quote Originally Posted by jackeyres View Post
    Thanks for your help. I followed your instructions and then installed the latest software (4.7). Everything running well now.
    Sweet!
    "Nowhere am I so desperately needed as among a shipload of illogical Humans." (Spock)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •