Results 1 to 10 of 10

Just like the title says, I'm going to try the 4.5 again and I'm wondering ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679

    Does a DM backup save apps?

    Advertisement



    Just like the title says, I'm going to try the 4.5 again and I'm wondering if the DM backup/restore saves third party downloaded applications. I thought it did, but recently I've been told otherwise..

    Anyone?

  2. #2
    dymund's Avatar
    dymund no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    36
    It backs up EVERYTHING

  3. #3
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    Thanks! Can I get a second opinion/experience? I thought it backed up everything also, but I recently came upon a guide that explained how to back up third party apps so I thought they wouldn't be backed up.

  4. #4
    Don LuiG's Avatar
    Don LuiG no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    649
    Mine did the last time I upgraded to 4.5 but u have to make sure you select back up and restore on the options

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    Jbee's Avatar
    Jbee no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    3047D925
    Posts
    1,859
    Don LuiG is right...when I upgraded my carrier software, it made a "loader backup file and loader folder". It was scary seeing my device get totally wiped, but once the update was done, it reloaded all my apps and settings.

  6. #6
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331
    No, the dm does not backup 3rd party apps when doing a backup. The reason they are there after you load a new os is because you did an upgrade. Try loading your backup file on a fresh os install, no 3rd party apps. That's why there is a thread about how to back them up.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    If you just do a regular backup and restore through dtm it does not backup apps. If you go through application loader process to update your software then it will backup the apps before it erases everything.

  8. #8
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    Ok I got it, thanks guys!

  9. #9
    dymund's Avatar
    dymund no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    36
    I just did a backup /restore and it didnt

  10. #10
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    You'd think the DM prog would backup everything. Doesn't surprise me at all that it has this bonehead deficiency. Par for the course.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •