Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Just wanted to check out how many people do this as well as what kind ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    shady7twenty4's Avatar
    shady7twenty4 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    71

    Question Do you use ur bb for teathering?/modem

    Advertisement



    Just wanted to check out how many people do this as well as what kind of speed you pull.
    List your

    bb model
    carrier
    upload/download speed

    I have a 8130 on verizon wireless. Will edit with my upload/download speed soon as i find a test site I can trust, if anyone knows of one plz post to make thread go faster.

    Found a good site here speedtest.net . here is my link but anyway my results are
    269kbps down and 93kbps up
    Last edited by shady7twenty4; 01-15-2009 at 12:16 AM.

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    I use my 8330 as a modem for my laptop and my carrier is Alltel.

    Test Results: 570 down 102 up
    Last edited by moderncowboy; 01-15-2009 at 08:17 PM.

  3. #3
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    Just tested mine tethered.

    1127 down, 487 up.

  4. #4
    curve247's Avatar
    curve247 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    2,098
    I use mine all the time. I havent tested it but I am using an 8330 on Sprint and I dont see a whole lot of difference between my BB and my cable connection.
    "T-Dub"
    T- Mo: BB 9700, 8900, 8220
    Sprint: BB 8330, 8830, 8130, 8703, 7250

    But there's a beautiful view of the end of the world from the pier.....

  5. #5
    smcopey's Avatar
    smcopey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    79
    I Want To use mine as one but needhelp with it. if someone could help me i have a BB 8100 4.2 through t mobile and have windows vista on my desktop.. plz help me.

  6. #6
    monim361's Avatar
    monim361 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    PIN/ID
    248fd367
    Posts
    112
    I use my 8320 on tmobile I got 142 down and 42 up. That sounds not as great as the rest of you guys. SMC- call tmobile they will go step by step with you on setting it up!

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    8320
    T-Mobile
    Instructions to set this up are linked in My Blog if you want to give it a try!
    Speed 115.2Kbps
    Speakeasy reported 96 down
    Last edited by GaryF; 01-16-2009 at 05:37 PM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    smcopey's Avatar
    smcopey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    79
    That's the thing I can't call them. My dad locked my 611 so I can't call them to talk to them unless I know his last 4 digits of his social.

  9. #9
    tmartel's Avatar
    tmartel no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    26
    curve247, how do u set your 8330 to connect to you computer?

  10. #10
    curve247's Avatar
    curve247 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    2,098
    I am using sprint's SmartView program. You can download it here --> http://www.nextel.com/en/software_do...rry_8330.shtml

    Let me know if it works for you. If not I can help out.
    "T-Dub"
    T- Mo: BB 9700, 8900, 8220
    Sprint: BB 8330, 8830, 8130, 8703, 7250

    But there's a beautiful view of the end of the world from the pier.....

  11. #11
    mnemerah's Avatar
    mnemerah no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    28
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I use a VZW 8330 as my exclusive internet connection. A bit of a pain sometimes, but worth the convienience of being able to use it anywhere.

    Anyway I get:
    DL ~ 512kbps
    UL ~ 112kbps

  12. #12
    smcopey's Avatar
    smcopey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    79
    Help?

  13. #13
    shady7twenty4's Avatar
    shady7twenty4 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    71
    sorry i dont know about tmoible to help u.
    I have full service when I dial in from home seems I might be using the slower connection 1x

    mnemerah do you pay the 60 a month to verizon?

  14. #14
    shady7twenty4's Avatar
    shady7twenty4 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    71
    here you can find my method of teathering

    here is someone elses guide to teathering with a bb

    those shoud be able to help you smcopey?

  15. #15
    brettxw's Avatar
    brettxw no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    504
    ok for some reason my curve wont stay connected for me to tether WHYYYYYY
    <-><-><-><-><-><-><-><-><-><-><-><->
    BlackberryOS
    Blackberry Tour 9630
    Blackberry Storm 9530

    Blackberry Curve 8520
    Blackberry Curve 8320

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •