Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Hi, has anybody had a chance to download desktop manager 4.6? What is different with ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    zakz's Avatar
    zakz no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    189

    Dm 4.6

    Advertisement



    Hi, has anybody had a chance to download desktop manager 4.6? What is different with DM 4.5? Can it be used with a curve running OS 4.5? Just tempted to test it out...

  2. #2
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    I wasn't even aware Desktop Manager 4.6 was even out.
    I am still rocking out 4.3 DM.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  3. #3
    ziminvades's Avatar
    ziminvades no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    702
    I am running 4.5 desktop with 4.5 os and it works for me. Is 4.6 dm out there or is 4.5 your refering to?
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    jsaradhi's Avatar
    jsaradhi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    411
    zakz...i just started the DM 4.6 download...and wanted to check if anyone installed and used it with OS 4.5.x...i dont want to be the first lol
    Last edited by jsaradhi; 06-11-2008 at 07:07 PM.

  5. #5
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    It's not on blackberry.com.

  6. #6
    pinpoint's Avatar
    pinpoint no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me.
    Posts
    625
    from 4.3 to 4.6, I noticed the following.

    -GUI Interface
    -I can now edit my contacts right on the manager before it syncs to storage.
    -Media manager included(blackberry media sync required)
    -Bluetooth options have been added.
    -Automatic backups options updated.
    -Application loader options are upfront while you select what to install. So if you wanted to backup before an OS update or software update you can immediately on the first screen(Apps selection).
    -Details of each package you install including, General Information, Modules, and Dependencies.
    -Help--> Device Options as follows below.
    PIN, Model, Phone Number, Platform Version, Application version, IMEI, Network supported, Radio Type, Screen resolution, Total application space, Free application space, and Battery Level.
    Last edited by pinpoint; 06-11-2008 at 07:16 PM.
    dcrin3.com
    One Second Coming
    1s-
    Tour - 9/6/9 | ~3pm

  7. #7
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    [quote=pinpoint;765662]from 4.3 to 4.6, I noticed the following.
    -GUI Interface
    -I can now edit my contacts right on the manager before it syncs to storage.
    -Media manager included(blackberry media sync required)
    -Bluetooth options have been added.
    -Automatic backups options updated.
    -Application loader options are upfront while you select what to install. So if you wanted to backup before an OS update or software update you can immediately on the first screen(Apps selection).[/quote]


    I didn't think BB media sync was out yet...
    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/devices...ediaplayer.jsp
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  8. #8
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Wait, stop the press.

    New Desktop Manager 4.5 Beta
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ad.php?t=75951
    is just out, and somebody else mentioned 4.6 in that thread as well.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  9. #9
    zakz's Avatar
    zakz no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    189
    Yes jllama 4.6 is out I think build 08.

    Thanks pinpoint, any conflicts with your blackberry? think I'm gonna install it too and see what happens.

    Jsaradhi I was thinking the same thing too. Wanted to hear from others who have installed it first-not a lot it seems.

  10. #10
    snipes mcgee's Avatar
    snipes mcgee no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    555
    Does 4.6 have BT syncing too?

    I'm running Windows in a virtual environment and I can't get my BT to work in Vista to try it out and test.
    I have a BlackBerry and a WhiteApple. :)

  11. #11
    jsaradhi's Avatar
    jsaradhi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    411
    i noticed that it looks for device software updates...as soon as it connects to a device...and if ur device is password protected, earlier versions synced anyhow...but this one puts out an alert on ur phone to input password. once i input my pwd, then it starts the sync process.

    app loader has an option not only to do the usual, but also check for updated versions!

    media sync seems to be different and no more roxio!

    of course, the interface is much smoother than its predecessors. 4.3 dint have hide to system tray when minimized (which annoyed me), this one has the option...yay! these are some of the changes i noticed from 4.3...

    anyway, i like it!

  12. #12
    Antgod's Avatar
    Antgod no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    2148A220
    Posts
    320
    is this only in beta?

  13. #13
    pinpoint's Avatar
    pinpoint no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me.
    Posts
    625
    Quote Originally Posted by zakz View Post
    Yes jllama 4.6 is out I think build 08.

    Thanks pinpoint, any conflicts with your blackberry? think I'm gonna install it too and see what happens.
    no coflicts with .42 OS.
    dcrin3.com
    One Second Coming
    1s-
    Tour - 9/6/9 | ~3pm

  14. #14
    tylerscott20's Avatar
    tylerscott20 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    24411101
    Posts
    122
    Ya i have .42 with 4.6dm. Works great

  15. #15
    tfung's Avatar
    tfung no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    2076720F
    Posts
    28
    I have a problem with 4.6 in that everytime I try to sync with my bb, halfway through the syncing, it tells me that an internet connection is required in order to sync for the first time. Of course I was online, but no idea why it would not detect my internet connection and complete the sync... Probably have to downgrade back to 4.3

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •