hi! i am new to all this! for business reasones i need to have different ... General Blackberry forum

nbm
    nbm no está en línea Stack level 1

different ringtones for sms and voicemail on pearl HELP!

Advertisement

hi! i am new to all this! for business reasones i need to have different ringtones for incomming voice message versus incoming text messages for this reason att advised me to get the pearl and not the curve.. i was successful in downloading different tunes and placed them in the proper places i.e. under ringtones for sms vs messages and yet the same music plays for both. also i hid certain non important icons and they r back but via a shadow! this blackberry seems to be taking up too too much time. thanks

8800bruin no está en línea Stack level 3

Re: different ringtones for sms and voicemail on pearl HELP!

I have the Curve and mine does the same thing. Here is my theory as to why. Voicemail notification is sent over SMS (text message) to the phone. The Message choice under your profiles is for your incoming emails messages. So when your phone gets a text message or voicemail, it will notify you via the same system, which will trigger the SMS Text sound effect. Every Blackberry I had before my Curve worked the same way in this respect.

LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax

Quote Originally Posted by nbm
    also i hid certain non important icons and they r back but via a shadow! this blackberry seems to be taking up too too much time. thanks
    Click on the Menu button (the button to the left of the trackwheel) and uncheck "Show All" to get rid of the hidden icons still showing up.

As far as taking too much time, Blackberries are a little more complex than a regular phone, so the learning curve is a little steeper. That being said, because of this they are very customizable to your needs and usages.

Use the stacks as your database/reference. You can find out anything you need to know in here.

Welcome to our community!