Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

I have a BB Curve (8310). My Desktop Manager (DTM) Media Manager (MM) fails with ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    danmonline's Avatar
    danmonline no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28

    Thumbs down Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    Advertisement



    I have a BB Curve (8310). My Desktop Manager (DTM) Media Manager (MM) fails with "Certificate Missing or Corrupt".

    I have tried several suggested remedies to no avail.
    • Renistall after using the Windows Installer Cleanup Utility.
    • Disable my security software before install.
    • Copy the certificate from a friends system that has MM running.
    What are the details of the 'use/need for" a certificate? If I knew what type of certificate it was, where it was stored, what its name is, and what constitues a valid format; maybe I could figure this out. Clearly the engineers at RIM, ROXIO, ATT, ??? whomever wrote MM know. Can anyone shed some light here? Blindly reinstalling has lead nowhere.

    I am working around this using the BB Mass Storage driver and the USB cable with MS Explorer. The BB is seen as a removable drive then by Explorer. Does a lot of what I need. Forunately the other DTM functions work OK. If I did not have a media card I would not be able to add media to the BB though.

    Any help would be appreciated, Thanks.

  2. #2
    dallas1125's Avatar
    dallas1125 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576E92F
    Posts
    1,610

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    im not a genius but what if it is your OS, don't listen to me though but maybe you need to re install your OS. What are you trying to do when it tells you that? Try asking one of the moderators about this.
    Last edited by dallas1125; 02-16-2008 at 04:57 AM.

  3. #3
    danmonline's Avatar
    danmonline no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28

    Thumbs down Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    Thanks for getting involved. I am dead in the water after a lot of research and trials.

    I am using the BB 4.2.2 OS. The DTM loads fine, but fails with the certificate error when I try to run the Media Manager function from the DTM tray.

    My wife's BB does not have a media card so she cannot even add any media files to her BB. With my media card I can copy manually.

    Looking forward to getting DTM going.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    Dan,
    Please read through this KB Article on the BB website: http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...200%2098164370

    Hope this clears it up some for you

  5. #5
    danmonline's Avatar
    danmonline no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    I have tried the permissions check before. It is a good suggestion but not the answer. I usually work as an administrator all the time. My adds/changes get admin permissions.

    I am open to any more ideas. This problem is a stickler, mostly for the reasons in my post that the error does not give enough detail on what certificate it wants. Just a certificate. Maybe a suggestion for RIM to add more to the error message for the future.

    Thanks for getting involved.

  6. #6
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    I have full admin rights to my PC also, the issue I have had with this area before is that I run MS Vista, which even with admin rights, locks the registry anyways. What version of Windows are you running? If it is Vista, then the registry is not admin open. I have had to create the registry folders myself before so that they can be written to by my user (which is admin) and that seems to fix the errors.

  7. #7
    danmonline's Avatar
    danmonline no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...tml#post625311

    This post points out that Media Player will read the SD. This is a better work around. If there is no DTM resolution, I can use this. Since I have never seen DTM MM, I don' know what other features it has that I might need. I suspect some storage format and conversion options, but ..

    Still interested in solving this, if someone has more ideas I am willing to try them.

  8. #8
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    there are several reasons to try and use it, yes you ca transfer without MM but as you pointed out it does other things. Here is the page: http://na.blackberry.com/eng/devices...diamanager.jsp

    I will keep looking for an answer for you also and post it if I find one.

  9. #9
    dallas1125's Avatar
    dallas1125 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576E92F
    Posts
    1,610

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Why don't you try to copy the files to your memory card by using the sd adapter and inserting it into your pc?

  10. #10
    danmonline's Avatar
    danmonline no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    Thanks for the suggestion. I had done that before and it works. My concern is getting the other features that MM offers. Windows Media Player is a better alternative. I use this also, now,

    I still don't have MM and whatever features it offers. I have seen posts on video and audio reformatting tools, etc.

    I am running on Windows XP SP2.

  11. #11
    dallas1125's Avatar
    dallas1125 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2576E92F
    Posts
    1,610

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    i have windows sp2 and it works for me so i have no clue what to tell you sorry.

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    I read thru the post quickly so forgive me if any of this is a repeat. A few suggestions:

    If you are installing from a CD try to Download from https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...93E4F3BB068C22

    Uninstall your prior attempts and reboot first.

    If you are having problems with version 4.3 try installing 4.2 sp2. If this works you mayupgrade by installing 43 withoug removing 4.2 first.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    danmonline's Avatar
    danmonline no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28

    Question Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    Thanks you all for getting involved. All your thoughts are helpful but no cigar yet.

    This seems to be a thorny problem. I have seen several posts on other Forums that indicate the problem has been encountered and unresolved there as well. This is troubling because looking at the demo on the link that godaddy shared with me, there are lots of additional features in MM.

    I have tried what GaryF suggested, installing in all of these ways. No luck. The install completes with no errors but does not correct the problem with any of the cleaning, reinstalling attempts I made.

    The install seems very slow. Perhaps it is timing out on a step during install. Maybe a conflict with an active program, or its looking for a system element or other file/folder that it can't find. No error is reported though. I can't find an install log to check for this. If someone know where the log is kept that may help.

    I can think of some other possibilities, if anyone knows the details.
    • An activex component did not get registered. I saw a reference to atl71.dll in one post.
    • A certificate needs to be added to my PC by a Verisgn or Thwate procedure. If so Why?
    • There is a conflict with a third party program that I already have installed. Perhaps a different activex component version or trying to reinstall a the component when it is active. I turned off my security software during install to try to avoid this.
    • A Roxio bug.
    Earlier in the posts, I suggested that asking the engineering group that developed this product to answer some questions would help. If I knew what the error meant in more detail maybe it would be correctable by a simple procedure. What certificate specifically is at fault, what is its storage file name and location, what is its correct format for use. The error message is very general. I am not even sure MM is generating it, though. It maybe something that MM references during execution.

    If anyone knows how to get access to the engineers who wrote this with an email, I would be happy to interact with them to the level I can. I have a support and programming background. They can look in the code and answer my simple questions above. I know we had to do this in the companies I worked for when a problem was outstanding for a while.

    Maybe this would be a good gesture on their part. I know that I get a lot of email from all of them encouraging me to purchase more product. I would be more likely to comply after getting this going.

    Thanks for your help.

    I like to solve technical problems. Hopefully this will benefit other MM users.
    Last edited by danmonline; 02-17-2008 at 05:42 PM. Reason: Typo

  14. #14
    gkast1's Avatar
    gkast1 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    244F596F
    Posts
    2,381

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    Quote Originally Posted by danmonline@gmai View Post
    Thanks you all for getting involved. All your thoughts are helpful but no cigar yet.

    This seems to be a thorny problem. I have seen several posts on other Forums that indicate the problem has been encountered and unresolved there as well. This is troubling because looking at the demo on the link that godaddy shared with me, there are lots of additional features in MM.

    I have tried what GaryF suggested, installing in all of these ways. No luck. The install completes with no errors but does not correct the problem with any of the cleaning, reinstalling attempts I made.

    The install seems very slow. Perhaps it is timing out on a step during install. Maybe a conflict with an active program, or its looking for a system element or other file/folder that it can't find. No error is reported though. I can't find an install log to check for this. If someone know where the log is kept that may help.

    I can think of some other possibilities, if anyone knows the details.
    • An activex component did not get registered. I saw a reference to atl71.dll in one post.
    • A certificate needs to be added to my PC by a Verisgn or Thwate procedure. If so Why?
    • There is a conflict with a third party program that I already have installed. Perhaps a different activex component version or trying to reinstall a the component when it is active. I turned off my security software during install to try to avoid this.
    • A Roxio bug.
    Earlier in the posts, I suggested that asking the engineering group that developed this product to answer some questions would help. If I knew what the error meant in more detail maybe it would be correctable by a simple procedure. What certificate specifically is at fault, what is its storage file name and location, what is its correct format for use. The error message is very general. I am not even sure MM is generating it, though. It maybe something that MM references during execution.

    If anyone knows how to get access to the engineers who wrote this with an email, I would be happy to interact with them to the level I can. I have a support and programming background. They can look in the code and answer my simple questions above. I know we had to do this in the companies I worked for when a problem was outstanding for a while.

    Maybe this would be a good gesture on their part. I know that I get a lot of email from all of them encouraging me to purchase more product. I would be more likely to comply after getting this going.

    Thanks for your help.

    I like to solve technical problems. Hopefully this will benefit other MM users.
    • An activex component did not get registered. I saw a reference to atl71.dll in one post.
    If you suspect that, you can re-register any AX, or DLL for that matter,. manually with regsvr32


    There is a conflict with a third party program that I already have installed. Perhaps a different activex component version or trying to reinstall a the component when it is active.


    I should hope not... Windows has had WinSxS, "side by side", for some time now, and manifests, to sidestep such problems. Because frankly, the jumble of 2500+ executables, dlls, infs, mscs, cpls, kitchen sinks and ax's sitting in \windows\system32 is enough to make one blanch... plus fail immediately on basic software engineering grounds any student who dared suggest this kind of "design"

    If anyone knows how to get access to the engineers who wrote this with an email

    I worked for AGFA Medical Instruments, and yes, we used to do this; we the R&D engineers would take calls from perplexed customers who had exhausted first- and second-level support and still had a problem. We were the resource of last resort

    The practice, shall we say, has been globally discontinued over the last few years ... or actually, "moved to Bangalore". Good luck with this one
    Last edited by gkast1; 02-17-2008 at 06:30 PM.

  15. #15
    danmonline's Avatar
    danmonline no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    28

    Re: Desktop Manager MM "Certificate error"

    I have friends that have XP SP2 and have installed on several systems with no problems. My system runs fine otherwise. I agree that XP has thousands of components, and its staggering overall. My coding projects have proven to me that this can be a monster. I primarily worked in VB.

    I agree that the support from suppliers has become very limited in the last 10years. It does not hurt to ask. Maybe they would listen. It would be good PR. Considering the size of the subscribership to pinstack.com it would not hurt.

    I looked at the programs, etc. in ...Program FIles/Roxio with FileAlyzer from Safer Networking. It has a show strings option for executables. It did not find the word "certificate" in any of the files. I suspect the program/object generating the certificate error is elsewhere. Thought this may lead to some clues.

    The plot thickens.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •