Results 1 to 14 of 14

I have been traveling internationally quite a bit lately and when looking at my bill ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    tessitori's Avatar
    tessitori no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    271

    Data Usage Question

    Advertisement



    I have been traveling internationally quite a bit lately and when looking at my bill I see that data is being pushed every 10 minutes in the amount of 0.0244kb; needless to say that the charges are getting out of control and I have no programs on my phone enables while I travel - except for my email and I do have the International Data Provisioning for a flat fee.
    How would I go about figuring out what program/service is pushing data every 10 minutes or so?

    *edit - Also, this happens ONLY when traveling internationally not domestically. T-Mobile is looking into it and the only thing they said is that it is an IP address out of New York that the phone/data is checking every 10 minutes.

    Interesting enough I have done some international wifi calls and have not been billed for them!
    Last edited by tessitori; 05-09-2011 at 12:44 AM.

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    You should probably look into an app that tracks data usage on the device. There are several available in AppWorld.....MiniMoni is one, Data Monitor is another. I don't have any personal experience with these, but worth checking into.

  3. #3
    tessitori's Avatar
    tessitori no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    271
    Roger, as always you have a great answer. I was told by the T-Mobile technician that any apps purchased on the BB App World will constantly check for updates and will always push data. So when I travel internationally I exit/sign-off of these programs.

  4. #4
    lak611's Avatar
    lak611 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    PIN/ID
    no more
    Posts
    1,370
    Here is another app that I use to track data usage. http://mobile.e-office.com/Products/Mobile-Data-Alerter

  5. #5
    tessitori's Avatar
    tessitori no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    271
    Lak, thank you for the link!

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Just downloaded it myself. Looks cool.

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Well now this is scary......the app just popped up a message that reads "Your data usage has reached limits set within company policies; a message has been sent to your system administrator."

    Ah, just found the settings page. Looks like I'll need to modify some of the limits there.

    Pretty cool.

    Thanks, Laura!

  8. #8
    lak611's Avatar
    lak611 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    PIN/ID
    no more
    Posts
    1,370
    Quote Originally Posted by tessitori View Post
    Lak, thank you for the link!
    You're welcome. I hope it helps.

  9. #9
    dushdavj's Avatar
    dushdavj no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,283
    When I got my torch it set up an ATT address book, which is fine if you are in the US since it regularly syncs between the phone and ATT, but if you are overseas it is bad news, 'cos it suddenly uses a lot of expensive data. It is possible to turn this off, but it is definitely something that you should check before traveling. I found it after checking what time the large data useage was happining (normally at 3 am when I knew I was not using the phone ).

  10. #10
    lak611's Avatar
    lak611 no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    PIN/ID
    no more
    Posts
    1,370
    I deleted the AT&T address book (for other reasons--it was messing up my Outlook sync). I use BlackBerry Protect, which can be set up to only do backups using Wi-Fi.

  11. #11
    tessitori's Avatar
    tessitori no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    271
    I am on TMO

    under active applications I see:

    net_rim_bb_nabsync_100
    net_rim_bb_vvm
    what are these 2?
    and messenger is always active ...
    Last edited by tessitori; 05-12-2011 at 03:09 AM.

  12. #12
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    vvm is Visual Voice Mail and nabsync is used by your carrier for carrier backups.....something that's likely of no use to you.

  13. #13
    tessitori's Avatar
    tessitori no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    271
    How do I delete Blackberry Messenger?

  14. #14
    spinrekkids's Avatar
    spinrekkids no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    PIN/ID
    2760A92E
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs up Thanks for link!

    Thanks for link...I'll try it out

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •