Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Hey everyone.. I recently downladed mini Opera for my 7250 and i like it so ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    rokr's Avatar
    rokr no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    111

    Smile Changing Default Browser

    Advertisement



    Hey everyone.. I recently downladed mini Opera for my 7250 and i like it so much better than my default browser.. However when i get links thru email and what not they open up with the default browser.. is there a way to change it so that opera is my default? any help would be greatly appreciated chris.

  2. #2
    r3nb72's Avatar
    r3nb72 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    202a1a6f
    Posts
    409

    Re: Changing Default Browser

    Hi rokr. Its not possible to make it yr default browser. The best is to copy the links to Opera and access them.

  3. #3
    tjunkie's Avatar
    tjunkie no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    203E690C
    Posts
    159

    Re: Changing Default Browser

    I suppose you can't

  4. #4
    rokr's Avatar
    rokr no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    111

    Re: Changing Default Browser

    really.. damn that sucks... well thanks anyways.. do u guys use opera?

  5. #5
    r3nb72's Avatar
    r3nb72 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    202a1a6f
    Posts
    409

    Re: Changing Default Browser

    Rokr, iv been using Opera Mini from way back. I also prefer it to the standard browser. If im not close to my desktop i use it for all browsing.

  6. #6
    SuzzyP's Avatar
    SuzzyP no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,752

    Re: Changing Default Browser

    opera? can you use it on a 7100g ?

  7. #7
    r3nb72's Avatar
    r3nb72 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    202a1a6f
    Posts
    409

    Re: Changing Default Browser

    Quote Originally Posted by SuzzyP
    opera? can you use it on a 7100g ?
    Yes u can. Check out the downloads section here on pinstack.

  8. #8
    SuzzyP's Avatar
    SuzzyP no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,752

    Re: Changing Default Browser

    oh sweet. i'm gonna check it out then.

    Thanks so much

  9. #9
    rokr's Avatar
    rokr no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    111

    Re: Changing Default Browser

    I really like opera its great.. Is it the best one out there for bb or is there a better one.. I know there are some others like minet I think that's what its called.. Is that one good at all or should I not even bother..?

  10. #10
    sstephanie40's Avatar
    sstephanie40 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    20420516
    Posts
    96
    Opera is the best browser in my opinion. The reason why you can't change the default browser is because your phone is locked to a particular network in most cases from birth and the browser config is set then too. So t-mobile tell me anyway!

  11. #11
    giamburrasca's Avatar
    giamburrasca no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    256223F9
    Posts
    348
    Hi guys, one word of caution. If you save a lot of faves in Opera and have to reload the OS, a backup and restore won't recover them. I don't know of a workaround for this but would surely welcome one, because, apart from its irritating habit of making you open a new screen to enter data, Opera rocks.

  12. #12
    dreja530's Avatar
    dreja530 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    24388a59
    Posts
    21

    Re: Changing Default Browser

    i was wondering if this had changed in the last year? i would really like the links from emails to open straight to opera too

  13. #13
    kolosus's Avatar
    kolosus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    315677A8
    Posts
    363

    Re: Changing Default Browser

    Nope. The default browser still has the upper hand. Plus you cant install any OTA links from Opera. Only the default browser is allowed to do that... So you still need it.

  14. #14
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252

    Re: Changing Default Browser

    I use a Memo on the blackberry for links I need to have. THat does gets saved in Backups. But then I always do selective backs. Never a full one.
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  15. #15
    Salpula's Avatar
    Salpula no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by giamburrasca View Post
    Hi guys, one word of caution. If you save a lot of faves in Opera and have to reload the OS, a backup and restore won't recover them. I don't know of a workaround for this but would surely welcome one, because, apart from its irritating habit of making you open a new screen to enter data, Opera rocks.
    If you have opera on your desktop I believe the mini browser gives you the option to sync your bookmarks, etc. on the start page. I have not tried it but I tucked the idea away when I saw the option in opera mini, in case I ever found a need for it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •