Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hi all. I can't find my carrier listed inside the blackberry.alx either by name (telcel) ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    asdf12321's Avatar
    asdf12321 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    86

    Can't find my vendor in blackberry.alx

    Advertisement



    Hi all.
    I can't find my carrier listed inside the blackberry.alx either by name (telcel) or by vendor ID (121).
    What is the significance of this? If not specified there, where else would the ugly ringtone and wallpaper my carrier adds to every blackberry it sells be?

  2. #2
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Can't find my vendor in blackberry.alx

    It just means they don't have a vendor specific theme or fileset and use the standard RIM ringtones and Wallpapers, or at least the standard file names.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  3. #3
    asdf12321's Avatar
    asdf12321 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    86

    Re: Can't find my vendor in blackberry.alx

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Thanks. So where is the carrier's ringtone stored?

  4. #4
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Can't find my vendor in blackberry.alx

    Do you mean on the BB or in the java files on the PC? What do you want to do? Change the ringtone that is active? If so go to Profiles, Advanced and edit the active profile.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  5. #5
    asdf12321's Avatar
    asdf12321 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    86

    Re: Can't find my vendor in blackberry.alx

    Quote Originally Posted by Rcbjr View Post
    Do you mean on the BB or in the java files on the PC? What do you want to do? Change the ringtone that is active? If so go to Profiles, Advanced and edit the active profile.

    Rcbjr.
    My carrier adds their corporate tune (their "jingle") as a ringtone to every phone it sells. What I want to do is get rid of it.
    Even after deleting all the RIM preloaded tones by deleting the apropiate .cod, that ringtone still persists as an option on my BB.

  6. #6
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Can't find my vendor in blackberry.alx

    JUst ignore it. It doesn't take that much space. It really isn't worth trying to find and remove it.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  7. #7
    kolosus's Avatar
    kolosus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    315677A8
    Posts
    363

    Re: Can't find my vendor in blackberry.alx

    Cant you change the ringtone? AT&T does the same with all their phones (blackberry or otherwise) but I can select a different tone and that takes care of the matter...

  8. #8
    asdf12321's Avatar
    asdf12321 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    86

    Re: Can't find my vendor in blackberry.alx

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Yes, I can just select another 'tone and forget about it. I guess that is what I'll end up doing. Of course I could always install another carrier's OS...
    Thanks all.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •