Results 1 to 14 of 14

Just to let everyone know if your 5.0 messenger is working correctly that you can ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    stixx's Avatar
    stixx no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    33

    blkberry messenger 5.0 extra and barcode generator

    Advertisement



    Just to let everyone know if your 5.0 messenger is working correctly that you can use it to scan non-blackberry 2d barcodes, and it'll work often taking you to website depending on the information within the barcodes. Check out this site in which you can generate your own personal barcode http://zxing.appspot.com/generator/.

  2. #2
    smooth10's Avatar
    smooth10 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    21CB9337
    Posts
    1,506
    Good info, I don't quite understand it, but I'll have to tamper with it for a while

  3. #3
    amcat's Avatar
    amcat no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    213
    Nice find Stixx!
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Use your mind... Creativity is free!!

    Follow me on Twitter

  4. #4
    stixx's Avatar
    stixx no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    33
    2d barcode are common in Japan and are used for many things so I'd guess there programs have more features that what are enabled with the bb messenger 5.0, but gives you an idea of potential uses. I think the barcode system itself supports up to 4000 plus words and/or characters which is huge if one added on to a business card giving more than just the basic info with out taking up space

  5. #5
    Dwaine12's Avatar
    Dwaine12 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Good Try
    Posts
    443
    hey i love this...thanks...

  6. #6
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    I've seen a few 3rd party apps to do this, but nice find that it's built-in.
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  7. #7
    rashard's Avatar
    rashard no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    208FBA40
    Posts
    1,201
    AND ITS IN ENGLISH MUAHHAHAHA lol

    the one I used a month or 2 ago to make my contact avatar was in another language but I got it to work,, and it work through bbm just like it did the scanner program that I installed way back then, as well
    It takes many professionals versed in many different area's to help the masses, I am just a single drop in that pool.

    BXXXX[:::::::::::::::::::::::::::>


  8. #8
    stixx's Avatar
    stixx no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    33
    Yeah it's built in but it is also remember that its limited. There's a 2d bar code reader in the bb appworld but the reviews haven't been so great. I guess if the bar code reading catches on the app will be improved also. Here's the product website still haven't tried it out but if anyone is will to try please gives us your thoughts http://www.scanlife.com/us/

  9. #9
    romeo_55's Avatar
    romeo_55 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1

    hey

    Ok guys help me out here. i consider myself fairly good with cell phones especially blackberry's. Not perfect there is always more to learn. I have a bb bold and just got the new bbm 5.0. I put the .cod files in the java folder and the .alx file in the main os folder and used app loader to do the rest. All seems well. I can send messages ans receive but have noticed some lag in the messaging. I resent the service books and it seems to have fixed that issue (i was having sms issues as well which led me to believe it was a service book issue) but im now hearing stuff about bar codes and readers???? I've seen this on tv but when I take a pic of the bar code generated by my wife's bb mine just gets a picture no fancy hyper links or anything. I'm assuming I'm missing some software. where can i get it. or if not someone pls give me a quick crash course in this new tech. thanx to all.
    Last edited by romeo_55; 07-22-2009 at 08:52 PM.

  10. #10
    stixx's Avatar
    stixx no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by romeo_55 View Post
    Ok guys help me out here. i consider myself fairly good with cell phones especially blackberry's. Not perfect there is always more to learn. I have a bb bold and just got the new bbm 5.0. I put the .cod files in the java folder and the .alx file in the main os folder and used app loader to do the rest. All seems well. I can send messages ans receive but have noticed some lag in the messaging. I resent the service books and it seems to have fixed that issue (i was having sms issues as well which led me to believe it was a service book issue) but im now hearing stuff about bar codes and readers???? I've seen this on tv but when I take a pic of the bar code generated by my wife's bb mine just gets a picture no fancy hyper links or anything. I'm assuming I'm missing some software. where can i get it. or if not someone pls give me a quick crash course in this new tech. thanx to all.
    In order to read another persons barcode you have to go to your blkberry messenger and go to add contact and not using the camera option. Hope that help if not ask away.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    watkinsmd's Avatar
    watkinsmd no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    17

    My Contact INFO - scan away!


  12. #12
    eazid's Avatar
    eazid no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    560
    Used both Okotag and Neoreader for this task,... Neoreader won out.
    "Who Dares Wins"

  13. #13
    MotoUp's Avatar
    MotoUp no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,360
    The problem with using it for contact info is that I haven't found a way to be able to save the information. Yeah it displays it, but you can't do anything with it.

  14. #14
    dushdavj's Avatar
    dushdavj no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,283
    It looks like you have to scan the barcode with another bb from bbmesenger 5.0. You cannot add a jpg already on your phone.

    So as stixx states go into bbmessenger go to menu add contact scan barcode and then the camera on your phone is accessed as a scanner. It would be nice to have the option to read a barcode already on your phone that has been emaile to you.
    BlackBerry9000/4.6.0.167 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •