Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

I just pulled my battery to try and sort a problem I was having with ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    wolliwuk's Avatar
    wolliwuk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    26

    Blinking red light after battery pulled

    Advertisement



    I just pulled my battery to try and sort a problem I was having with BeeJive and left it out for a minute. When I came to put the battery in all I am getting is a steady blinking red light

    What does this mean and how do I sort it?

  2. #2
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    This usally means the OS has crashed, it happened to my Pearl about a year ago, I had to reload the OS, I lost everything BTW. You may have trouble getting the PC to see the BB, on the Connection screen in App loader pull the battery while it is pluged in to the PC this will usally get you to load the OS>
    If you haven't downloaded the OS yet, check here http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...oad_sites.html

    And this one for reloading just in case
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...uter_wont.html
    Last edited by pda.teck; 04-18-2008 at 09:10 AM. Reason: Spelling and adding some links
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    This is why I no longer recommend users perform a battery pull with the device "ON". The reason for the battery pull is to remove the power from the unit completly, which is accomplished just as well after turning the device "OFF".

    Good luck with your issue wolliwuk and keep us updated.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    wolliwuk's Avatar
    wolliwuk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    26
    Thanks am giving that a go now

  5. #5
    wolliwuk's Avatar
    wolliwuk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    26
    Well I tried all that and basically the Berry is still Nuked. It got so far then when it came to installing applications on it kept saying that it lost the connection to the device. I retried a few times as you could hear it clicking on and off and nothing more happened so I took it to my Vodafone store

    They rang up customer services who said try a new battery...no joy
    So as I have business insurance they rang up to see if they could give me another pearl but insurance wouldn't as it is a warranty issue (if i had dropped it they would have given me one).
    The Store wanted to give me a normal courtesy phone which I refused as I have a Blackberry so I can run my business and I had been told the Business insurance meant I would get another Blackberry if it needed to be repaired. NOT THE CASE. I am away for a few days and need to be able to keep tabs on my internet business. The store then rang customer services and eventually they agreed the would give me a new Pearl but would add another 10 months on my contract which will be finished in 4 months anyway.

    Basically I told them to stuff it as my next phone I want a Curve. I spend nearly Ł50 ($100) per month with Vodafone and have been with them for the last 4 years or so. I told them to take off my Blackberry plan and take off the insurance and reduce the monthly payment to the minimum Ł18 and that I would go and get a Blackberry Curve from T Mobile 2 doors up.
    I know the girl in the shop did the best she could for me as she is a friend of a friend, but her hands were tied by stupid company policy that means they do not have a courtesy Blackberry in their stores. Also their Business insurance is being miss sold as both the store staff and myself were under the assumption that it would cover me for another Blackberry.

    I have to go and pick up my Curve tomorrow at a store in another town.

    So my question is this.

    I have all my Pearl stuff backed up from a couple of weeks ago when I updated the OS. Will I be able to restore that to the Curve, because at the moment I have lost all my contacts numbers etc as they are not stored on my sim?

  6. #6
    cgaliffi's Avatar
    cgaliffi no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    22D95A46
    Posts
    703
    Save yourself the time and aggravation of doing battery pulls by just downloading an app called Soft Reset in the download section here.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ As far as I know your contacts will transfer if you use the Switch Device Wizard. Your apps, themes, wallpapers, etc won't because of the differences between the Pearl and Curve. Once you swap the pin on the BIS site via PC or BB, resend the service books for your emails.

  8. #8
    pda.teck's Avatar
    pda.teck no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    210DAC53
    Posts
    1,252
    You can open up Back up in back up and restore>advanced, click on file and open an old full back up and just transfer contacts and calander, keep it low key and DO NOT do a full restore from a Pearl to a Curve. I know Erica is right about the switch device wizard doing a good job, but I don't think it pulls from back ups, I beleive both devices have to be operational.
    Last edited by pda.teck; 04-18-2008 at 02:07 PM.
    J. "Wyatt" Croom
    Blackberry 8520
    Spelling doesn’t determine your I.Q.
    (\_/)
    (0_0)
    (")-(")

  9. #9
    wolliwuk's Avatar
    wolliwuk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    26
    On the pearl which is sitting in front of me the light has stopped blinking and there is a white background which has a small circle in the middle with a line through it. Within that circle is a picture that seems to represent a web page with a circle a square and a triangle on it. Under neath the circle is the number 507.
    Can anyone tell me if they have seen this before and what it means?

    Thanks

  10. #10
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028
    It means there is no OS on the device.

    Download the OS, install it to your computer, connect to desktop manager, click on application loader, go all the way through it and it will reload the OS on your device.

  11. #11
    KeNNethX's Avatar
    KeNNethX no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    241
    Quote Originally Posted by cgaliffi View Post
    Save yourself the time and aggravation of doing battery pulls by just downloading an app called Soft Reset in the download section here.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I love that app...It doesn't work on the beta of 4.5 that I have...I get a java.lang exception. I have given it all device permissions.

  12. #12
    wolliwuk's Avatar
    wolliwuk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    Once you swap the pin on the BIS site via PC or BB, resend the service books for your emails.

    Can you clarify this for me please because I really don't understand what you mean. This will be a personal device and and although I use it for my business it is not connected to a server or anything.

    Plus I will be moving from Voadafone UK to T Mobile UK

  13. #13
    wolliwuk's Avatar
    wolliwuk no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by N8DBB View Post
    It means there is no OS on the device.

    Download the OS, install it to your computer, connect to desktop manager, click on application loader, go all the way through it and it will reload the OS on your device.
    I have tried to do that but it gets part way loading the applications back onto the device then it says it has lost contact with it.

    Will try again though

  14. #14
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028
    Is the battery in the device?

  15. #15
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Quote Originally Posted by wolliwuk View Post
    Can you clarify this for me please because I really don't understand what you mean. This will be a personal device and and although I use it for my business it is not connected to a server or anything.

    Plus I will be moving from Voadafone UK to T Mobile UK

    What I mean is when you go to the BIS site on your PC or BB, it will ask you to enter the pin of the new device you want to use. Then while there on the PC or BB, click on Send Service Books.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •