Ok, I'll hold up my hand.. I'm a blackberry noob. I've used a pearl (on ... General Blackberry forum

se99jmk no está en línea Stack level 1
    PIN/ID
    204E3A57

Question Blackberry with Exchange 2006?

Advertisement

Ok, I'll hold up my hand.. I'm a blackberry noob.

I've used a pearl (on Voda) at my old company, by just putting in POP3 settings to the Voda web interface.
    Just joined a new company who have an Exchange 2003 server, but we're not using blackberries atm.

So, what would be our options for connecting to the Exchange server?
    New phones would be on Orange.

I presume Orange has a web setup interface like Voda, so I presume we can use POP3 through that (PUSH email is not required, just the ability to pick it up). Are there any changes we need to make on the Exchange server to make that happen?

I believe the other options are as follows:
    1. BIS - I think this is the same as the Orange web interface? email yes, but no Calendar or Contact sync
    2. BES - the full fat version. full 2 way sync for everythying, but $1100 cost for (x - unknown number) users?
    3. BES Express - same as BES (full fat), but limited to 15 users max. 0 setup cost and 1 license. $100 for aditional licenses.
    So far 1 or 2 people will be using blackberries, but potentially 10-20 within 4-5 months.

---------------------------------------
    As far as I can tell, POP3 will do what we want for now, just don't know if this works with Exchange 2006 or how easy this is to setup on Orange?
    ----------------------------------------
    My boss is using a Windows based PDA atm for collecting emails, and recieves calendar notes via email on it, which he can add to the calendar on the device, so would calendar updates be possible on the Blackberry too?
    ---------------------------------------
    The company is using a Small Business Server for Exchange (i think that's right) if that's any help.