Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

What exactly happens when you "wipe" the device?... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    Eldeano's Avatar
    Eldeano no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    128

    Blackberry Wipe

    Advertisement



    What exactly happens when you "wipe" the device?

  2. #2
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    Depends on where you wipe it from. If you do it from the security options menu, all your personal info gets wiped, and program configurations go back to defaults. Enterprise email will need to be set back up. Personal emails will be set back up when the BB registers itself back on the network.

    Things you installed to the phone, themes, 3rd party apps stay.

    If you wipe from the computer connected to the phone, the entire phone is wiped and you have to reinstall the OS.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    Eldeano's Avatar
    Eldeano no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    128

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    Quote Originally Posted by DCookSta
    Depends on where you wipe it from. If you do it from the security options menu, all your personal info gets wiped, and program configurations go back to defaults. Enterprise email will need to be set back up. Personal emails will be set back up when the BB registers itself back on the network.

    Things you installed to the phone, themes, 3rd party apps stay.

    If you wipe from the computer connected to the phone, the entire phone is wiped and you have to reinstall the OS.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Thanks DCooksta, I don't think I will be doing that then. The reason I ask is because when ever the battery in my Pearl starts getting low, the phone really get sluggish in terms of moving between apps and check email. It can take up to 30 seconds for screen refreshes, which in driving me nuts. This seems to happen even when the battery is half full. Any thoughts?

  4. #4
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    Sounds like you just have too much stuff on your phone. Type ALT + CAP + H and see what your File Free line shows. Then type ALT + LGLG and clear your Event Log and see if that helps you any.

    Good luck...
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  5. #5
    Eldeano's Avatar
    Eldeano no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    128

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    Quote Originally Posted by KalebsDad78
    Sounds like you just have too much stuff on your phone. Type ALT + CAP + H and see what your File Free line shows. Then type ALT + LGLG and clear your Event Log and see if that helps you any.

    Good luck...
    Thanks KalebsDad, I am see kind of new to this. What menu should I do that?

  6. #6
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    Just from your home screen
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  7. #7
    Eldeano's Avatar
    Eldeano no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    128

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    Quote Originally Posted by KalebsDad78
    Just from your home screen
    Yep I found it, there was a ton of stuff there and deleted it, thanks for your help!

  8. #8
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    It acquires stuff regularly so it's a good idea to just go in once a week and clear out the log.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  9. #9
    bcbbanga4l's Avatar
    bcbbanga4l no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ac973e
    Posts
    1,265

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    wow i gotta try that whats the normal code when it asks to wipe i was selling an old bb and wanted to wipe but i forgot the code

  10. #10
    KalebsDad78's Avatar
    KalebsDad78 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    2,044

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    I haven't seen a "code". When I have wiped a device in the past, you just have to type "blackberry" to confirm the wipe.
    New User? - Read the NEW USERS GUIDE

  11. #11
    FroggyStyle's Avatar
    FroggyStyle no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    149

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    If you wipe from the computer connected to the phone, the entire phone is wiped and you have to reinstall the OS.
    How do you do this from the pc?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,737

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    Quote Originally Posted by FroggyStyle
    How do you do this from the pc?
    Download and install this: JL_Cmder 1.8.3,
    Connect your device to the computer via USB, start JL Cmder, and option 5 is to "wipe". This removes everything, including OS.

  13. #13
    ssjason's Avatar
    ssjason no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    243e1873
    Posts
    378
    Quote Originally Posted by KalebsDad78
    Sounds like you just have too much stuff on your phone. Type ALT + CAP + H and see what your File Free line shows. Then type ALT + LGLG and clear your Event Log and see if that helps you any.

    Good luck...
    Thanks. That helps out a lot

  14. #14
    cubus's Avatar
    cubus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    Quote Originally Posted by DCookSta
    Things you installed to the phone, themes, 3rd party apps stay.
    I just wiped my 8820 from phone's security options. Before the wipe, there's a check box asking to wipe 3rd party applications. If you check it, the entire phone is wiped. The system stays on though.

  15. #15
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: Blackberry Wipe

    I see that is an option now. Our 7520/7100/8700's didn't have that box. Maybe its a 4.2 thing.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •