Results 1 to 9 of 9

hi there, I'm a salesman in mobily (mobile Carrier in Saudi) and we just started ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    hiigara's Avatar
    hiigara no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    20483D6F
    Posts
    5

    BlackBerry in Saudi

    Advertisement



    hi there,

    I'm a salesman in mobily (mobile Carrier in Saudi) and we just started selling Blackberry to compnies only in the desert kingdom. my 1th Q is ,can you place berring on voice calls & SMS and still get your meails by useing the options in the BES ?

  2. #2
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: BlackBerry in Saudi

    Not sure I understand the Q. But with BES voicemail & SMS won't affect the service overall. However on a GSM BB while on a call or sending/receiving and SMS the GPRS (DATA/email services) will pause and resume once the call or sms is completed. Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    hiigara's Avatar
    hiigara no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    20483D6F
    Posts
    5

    Re: BlackBerry in Saudi

    Thanks men for you fast respond.
    Let me explain it this way, I have a customer who is interested in Blackberry 8700, he wants his employees to get all their emails but without being able to make or receive phone call or SMS with the 8700 handheld.
    Now is there a way I can make this happen by changed the IT policies on the BES?
    Thanks [FONT=Wingdings]J[/FONT]

  4. #4
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: BlackBerry in Saudi

    Im sure there is a policy for what you are asking. A real easy way to prevent phone usage would be to delete the phone module, I did that and wasnt able to make phone calls till I reloaded the module.

  5. #5
    hiigara's Avatar
    hiigara no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    20483D6F
    Posts
    5

    Re: BlackBerry in Saudi

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Thanks

  6. #6
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: BlackBerry in Saudi

    Yes I’ve done this 3 year ago while working with Cingular. The carrier can disable voice services, barring calls and SMS from the MSC (switch). This in regards to GSM, probably possible on other networks. If you work for a Carrier contact Provisioning and asks them what flexibility they have.

    I'm pretty cirtain it can be done using the IT policy. The carrier will have a RIM support # to call have them call and email you the info.

    Hope this helps

  7. #7
    jchapman01's Avatar
    jchapman01 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24a51ff4
    Posts
    333

    Re: BlackBerry in Saudi

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i work for Cingular wireless here in the states. What we do is to privision the phone at the point of sale for data only by choosing the data package instead of the voice calling plan. That way you don't have to delete any modules from the phone. Hope that is a viable alternative for you!

  8. #8
    hayden's Avatar
    hayden no está en línea Stack Mod
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    12,440

    Re: BlackBerry in Saudi

    Thanks jc

  9. #9
    jchapman01's Avatar
    jchapman01 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24a51ff4
    Posts
    333

    Re: BlackBerry in Saudi

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~no problem. Just trying to help out.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •