Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hi everone, Can you help? I've got a user in Cuba with GSM coverage only. ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244

    Blackberry in Cuba

    Advertisement



    Hi everone,

    Can you help?

    I've got a user in Cuba with GSM coverage only. We're UK based with Vodasfone UK with full data plan.

    Can I get this user on a data network out there? I've no IT policies on this device.

    Can anyone of you help please?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244
    Some more info on this, this user says he's close to Florida and Key West, does this help at all?

  3. #3
    capdgow's Avatar
    capdgow no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    55
    Hello.I am based in the Bahamas and traveled to Cuba recently with my bb-8300

    It was not a good experience, a east as far as bb communications are concerned The rest was fantastic.

    I could only send/receive text and/or phone calls but neither service was "overwhelming" to say the least

    I researched deeply and eventually put it down to lack of positive/formal agreements between the two countries.

    I was forced to relax and enjoy the ambiance .....


    One cannot, apparently, beat the Caribbean beat.

    However, we are close and have good connections if you need "hands-on" assistance. Just let me know.

  4. #4
    Moe2005's Avatar
    Moe2005 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    87
    I doubt they would have any BB service in Cuba since just a couple of months ago they were finally allowed to have cell phones. Also, I believe that the Florida keys are too far to get any sort of service.~via BB 8320 (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244
    Hi both..

    Thank you very much for your offer of help and advise.

    I've realised that there's pretty much no chance of getting any GPRS network connection out there as yet, so I've suggested he goes to an internet type cafe.

    He did that, and tells me the speed is painfully slow.

    That'll do him for now.

    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    BBEnriched's Avatar
    BBEnriched no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    111
    It is entirely possible that there is not a GPRS/EDGE buildout in Cuba, and only a GSM voice. This would explain the lack of data, and the ability to make/receive phone calls, and SMS. (sms travels over the voice network)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •