Results 1 to 15 of 15

My Blackberry is an AT&T phone and for some reason, doesn't have the browser or ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    Wayno's Avatar
    Wayno no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5

    Blackberry Browser

    Advertisement



    My Blackberry is an AT&T phone and for some reason, doesn't have the browser or Media Net browser in it. Are you able to download a browser for the Pearl 8100? Thanks

  2. #2
    Cadmonkey's Avatar
    Cadmonkey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Did you just activate the blackberry? I believe it takes a while after activating for the browser to appear on the device.

  3. #3
    eazid's Avatar
    eazid no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    560
    Weird. I'm with VZW and mine worked right after the plan was set up. Before I walked out of the store.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    Justyn's Avatar
    Justyn no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    n/a
    Posts
    1,856
    Quote Originally Posted by Wayno View Post
    My Blackberry is an AT&T phone and for some reason, doesn't have the browser or Media Net browser in it. Are you able to download a browser for the Pearl 8100? Thanks
    Do you have a data plan? If not you'll have Media Mall Icons and what not. If you do have a data try a battery pull.

    If you have a data plan, did you get it with the Pearl or did you get the Pearl and then just recently add the data plan? If so it will take about an hour for the browser icon to show up.

    Is it an AT&T Pearl or is it unlocked from another GSM network? If it's unlocked you'll see icons from the other provider (like TZones is with TMO) if you don't have a data plan.

    Any chance none of this helped you, give us some more info please.
    It's not an iPhone addiction, it's insomnia!

  5. #5
    mimic42100's Avatar
    mimic42100 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8
    I had the same problem with my att pearl.
    Did you goto the personal email setup and click on receive service books?



    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    li2327's Avatar
    li2327 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    30D2E555
    Posts
    1,502
    Also try going to Options then advanced options then host routing table. Press the menu key to register with the network again. via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    data plans can take from instantly to up to 24 hours to activate. if you haven't added data services then you won't have those capabilities. let us know what's going on
    The BlackBerry Guru

    [x] My Minds Eye - Life Behind The Lens Of A BlackBerry
    [x] Pinstack Blog
    [x] Twitter

  8. #8
    TorturedNacho's Avatar
    TorturedNacho no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    208EB87C
    Posts
    684
    I'd try and send the service books.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    Wayno's Avatar
    Wayno no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Justyn View Post
    Do you have a data plan? If not you'll have Media Mall Icons and what not. If you do have a data try a battery pull.

    If you have a data plan, did you get it with the Pearl or did you get the Pearl and then just recently add the data plan? If so it will take about an hour for the browser icon to show up.

    Is it an AT&T Pearl or is it unlocked from another GSM network? If it's unlocked you'll see icons from the other provider (like TZones is with TMO) if you don't have a data plan.

    Any chance none of this helped you, give us some more info please.
    To be honest with you, it is a hand me down phone that my Brother had. I think it has had several hands in it. I spent 2 hours with AT&T tech support and the only thing they could tell me is that I will probably need to have the program reloaded. I get the following exceptions error after a hard reset: Uncaught exception:ApplicationRegistry.waitFor(Oxac3ae76427 d17f19) timeout
    Everything including e-mail works just fine I just cant get on the web. Any help would be appreciated.

  10. #10
    Wayno's Avatar
    Wayno no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Cadmonkey View Post
    Did you just activate the blackberry? I believe it takes a while after activating for the browser to appear on the device.
    It has been activated for a couple of months. Thanks

  11. #11
    Wayno's Avatar
    Wayno no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by jonnyxedge View Post
    data plans can take from instantly to up to 24 hours to activate. if you haven't added data services then you won't have those capabilities. let us know what's going on
    I have a Data plan through AT&T for 2 months now. Thanks

  12. #12
    Wayno's Avatar
    Wayno no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by TorturedNacho View Post
    I'd try and send the service books.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    AT&T had me do this. Thanks

  13. #13
    duval_happiness's Avatar
    duval_happiness no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    2449b097
    Posts
    194

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Wayno View Post
    AT&T had me do this. Thanks
    thats the solution
    service books
    Duval_Happine$$**

  14. #14
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877
    When you were on the phone with ATT did you ask if you had a data plan?
    Do you pay for a BlackBerry Data plan?
    If you do indeed have one, then what I would do is since you're getting an error message, I would try a device wipe using JL_Cmder Here.
    Then download your latest OS from Here.
    How to Here.

    Once installed, be sure to run the Setup Wizard and you should be good to go, but just in case
    resend your service books using the ATT BIS site.

  15. #15
    jmstr's Avatar
    jmstr no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Wayno View Post
    My Blackberry is an AT&T phone and for some reason, doesn't have the browser or Media Net browser in it. Are you able to download a browser for the Pearl 8100? Thanks

    Maybe those are hidden. You can hide/show icons. Click menu button at the main screen and select "show all". If it was hidden then the icon would appear but faded. You can but the cursor on that icon and click menu again to unhide it. The Curve I got with AT&T comes with those programs/icons pre-installed.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •