Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

When I check my signal strength in "Status" I note that it is generally somewhere ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    capdgow's Avatar
    capdgow no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    55

    BB signal strength - What is good?

    Advertisement



    When I check my signal strength in "Status" I note that it is generally somewhere around "-80dBm" fluctuating to "-70dBm" to about "-100dBm" depending, in part, on my location.

    Generally speaking when it is hovering around "-100dBm" I will loose signal altogether shortly.

    Can someone please elaborate/comment on the meaning of all this, for practical purposes?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    mikemunoz's Avatar
    mikemunoz no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    2451368F
    Posts
    42
    Hmmm...I do not worry bout it as long as it is operating well...........I dunno what db constitutes a "perfect" signal........but I guess it is all relative to it either is working or it is not........

  3. #3
    tbhuang2's Avatar
    tbhuang2 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    88
    Anything higher than -90dBm is good, as said in Stinsonddog's BB guide.
    BB Wishlist:
    -Gmail BIS integration with an effective 2-way read/unread sync solution.
    -More capable integrated alarm.

  4. #4
    04Taco's Avatar
    04Taco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by tbhuang2 View Post
    Anything higher than -90dBm is good, as said in Stinsonddog's BB guide.
    That is correct, but by higher you have to say -80, not -100. -80 is better than -90. -70 is better than -80, and so on. There is really no such thing as a perfect signal. The optimum is around -60. You would basically be under or very close to the site. You could have better, like around -40 to -50, but you would have to be next to the antennas. I wouldn't recommend that due to the RF exposure, which would make you feel like crap, and the RF can also sometimes be too strong for the phone and over power the front end of the receiver.

  5. #5
    BobL's Avatar
    BobL no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    69
    The scale is also logarithmic. THe difference between -80 and -90 is not 10, but 100 times.

  6. #6
    Vamp20048's Avatar
    Vamp20048 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    hello
    Posts
    109
    My signel is normaly 80 Lol so it don't matter 2 me as long as it works good ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    capdgow's Avatar
    capdgow no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    55
    Thanks, you guys. I was just curious how good/bad a service we were getting here in the Bahamas ,,,,, looks like it is pretty bad as it is generally around -90 or so and more often nudging -100. AND, it is tough to be more than 5-10 miles from any station or you would drop off the edge of the island(s). I guess it is saving our brain-cells somewhat but we get a lot of dropped calls, etc.

  8. #8
    MeatLoafT's Avatar
    MeatLoafT no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    246
    Delete this post please
    Last edited by MeatLoafT; 07-26-2008 at 11:04 AM. Reason: double post

  9. #9
    kieranwest's Avatar
    kieranwest no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me:)
    Posts
    1,208
    At home in Edmonton Im at about -45

  10. #10
    mikemunoz's Avatar
    mikemunoz no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    2451368F
    Posts
    42
    anyone have the code to change the ATT signal strength bars back over to db? I had it before and lost the command set.....

    Thank you in advance.....

  11. #11
    kieranwest's Avatar
    kieranwest no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me:)
    Posts
    1,208
    alt NMLL

  12. #12
    mikemunoz's Avatar
    mikemunoz no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    2451368F
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by kieranwest View Post
    alt NMLL

    Thanks again.........I stored it this time.......

  13. #13
    mellis2718's Avatar
    mellis2718 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    218255b2
    Posts
    80
    Ever since upgrading to 4.5 I have been dropping calls and losing edge in my house. It is 104dbm right now. What can I do? Can I tell att they need to check their towers. I live in metro area. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    kieranwest's Avatar
    kieranwest no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me:)
    Posts
    1,208
    If this has only been the case since upgrading to 4.5 then you can not tell att to check their towers as it must be a bug in the OS. Yes the OS can directly effect the signal strength. What 4.5 are you running?

  15. #15
    Pete6's Avatar
    Pete6 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    19
    I am not sure that the signal threshold is an OS 4.5 bug as such. I believe tthat RIM can tweak any number of OS thresholds and this one is an attempt to insure good call quality.

    It is true that this only seems to affect OS 4.5 and .44 in particular.

    I have noticed all sorts of odd thresholds that seem to have changed. Sound levels, re-boots due to exeeding minimum battery voltage on instantaneous loads to name but two. More evidence of OS parameter limit tweaking imo.

    On signal strength, you may already all know this - I am new in here, but....

    Type Alt+NMLL to toggle signal meter betweeen bars and dB if you have an 83xx phone. I have not tried it on other models.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •