Results 1 to 13 of 13

I ran into a friend of mine yesterday that just got the new iPhone 3G ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    laraiza's Avatar
    laraiza no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    77

    Thumbs up BB need more internal memory.

    Advertisement



    I ran into a friend of mine yesterday that just got the new iPhone 3G 16 gb and he was very excited. I played with his phone a little and it seemed to work great. I need to know one thing though if anyone can give their 2 cents. I believe RIM has been around for at least 5 years right, their phones are supposed to be "SMART" phones made for the business man/woman, right. RIM knows there are many different 3rd party apps/games/ for everyone from business to casual. I presume they also know some business emails can be quite large. My point is this, why does rim continue to make their phones with just barely enough memory to run their phones. You can't add too many themes, different apps, games without risking your phone being sent into the never ending hourglass mode due to lack of memory. The BB still cost between 300-600 dollars so why cant they put in a good amount of memory like say 8Gb or even 16 gb. I dont think many people would ever run into deleted text messages, emails lost call logs, etc. I am in no way an iphone person, I love BB but I dont understand why they seem to give you very little memory out the door. Is it a cost issue because if it is i dont think people would mind paying a little more to get the 16 gb version over the 64 kb version. I know I wouldnt.

  2. #2
    guyheavensent's Avatar
    guyheavensent no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    717cff09
    Posts
    548
    business first, play second


    that is what the memory card is for

  3. #3
    laraiza's Avatar
    laraiza no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    77
    Im talking about internal memory not memory card memory.

  4. #4
    ajdamac's Avatar
    ajdamac no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    32c6d491
    Posts
    65
    Is there a way to move some apps to my memory card?

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    www.aerize.com

    You can move apps there, but you cannot run them from the memory card.

  6. #6
    ajdamac's Avatar
    ajdamac no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    32c6d491
    Posts
    65
    That sucks! It would be nice to run them from there, I have always wondered this but wasn't sure if we could.

  7. #7
    HeavyComponent's Avatar
    HeavyComponent no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    TP2 :D
    Posts
    2,557
    I wouldn't mind extra, I would be happy if the device came with 1GB.

    ---
    T-Mobile Curve 8320 - 4.5.0.52 OS!
    [heavycomponent@tmo.blackberry.net]

    --HeavyC.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Hopefully RIM is on top of this issue, and several others, now that they've targeted the consumer market - and have Steve Jobs to contend with.
    I'd like to see the memory addressed and Blackberry's natively incorporate streaming internet radio/video, and podcasts.
    If you have suggestions for RIM, email them!

  9. #9
    thechadj's Avatar
    thechadj no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    690
    I definately agree with more memory the better. If or wheb this will happen who knows. I am sure that 8gb on board and the opportunity to throw an 8 gb card for expansion would be uh, sufficent. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    mariusmocan's Avatar
    mariusmocan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~yeah BB needs to get on their game. I have a 4gig card but the fact that you can't run apps from the card is really getting on my nerves. You would think that you wouldn't have a memory problem when you are paying top doller on a product aimed for such a diverse audience.

  11. #11
    mcky's Avatar
    mcky no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    116
    I am totally in support of more internal memory for my BB. When paying the price for a great product why should someone be limited or restricted.
    It is very hard to deside what application u will have to install or uninstall on ure BB to avoid the nagging hour glass and have the right amount of memory to function properly until u suffer this unending memory leak.

  12. #12
    caustic's Avatar
    caustic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    164
    I believe RIM has been around since '84. They started with vending machine then moved to text pagers then phones.
    The memory issue shouldn't be one at these days with the cost of high speed memory. Why in their most recent offerings they stll use a incrediably low amount of memory is beyond me...examples...samsung juke 1.8 gigs..ENVY2 80 megs..LG DARE 128 megs..I know the bold is going to have a gig of memory but even that isn't enough. RIM just needs to get out of the tank of the memory card manufactorers... ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    tdawg's Avatar
    tdawg no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    241F06A2
    Posts
    544
    Quote Originally Posted by caustic View Post
    I believe RIM has been around since '84. They started with vending machine then moved to text pagers then phones.
    The memory issue shouldn't be one at these days with the cost of high speed memory. Why in their most recent offerings they stll use a incrediably low amount of memory is beyond me...examples...samsung juke 1.8 gigs..ENVY2 80 megs..LG DARE 128 megs..I know the bold is going to have a gig of memory but even that isn't enough. RIM just needs to get out of the tank of the memory card manufactorers... ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    '

    Actually its 128 mb and 1 gig for media crap....
    BB8900 is mine!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •