Results 1 to 15 of 15

While browsing websites a lot of the time I cannot view them and I am ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    exene's Avatar
    exene no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    21d984e7
    Posts
    114

    BB FLASHplayer

    Advertisement



    While browsing websites a lot of the time I cannot view them and I am prompted to install FLASH player. Is there a work around for this? For example I can't view www.photoshop.com because of this slightly irritating technicality. Any input, advice or rants??? ? PINSTACK
    BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.250 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

  2. #2
    Schirripal's Avatar
    Schirripal no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    2096c6ec
    Posts
    585
    Skyfire is coming to berrys but still in alpha testin till who knows when
    And RIM is suppose to have flash integrated coming next year for now nothing for flash for
    Berrys
    BlackBerry9000/4.6.0.297 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102

  3. #3
    exene's Avatar
    exene no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    21d984e7
    Posts
    114
    Geez that whack! You would think it wouldn't be such a big deal considering we're holding "mini computing smartphones" with processing power. Hmm, my first situation where I look at my 8900 and raise an eyebrow. Haha! Thanks for the info schirri! Appreciate it!
    BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.250 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

  4. #4
    disturkis4u's Avatar
    disturkis4u no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    370
    No flash for mobile yet though I have it on my android phone =)
    BlackBerry9000/5.0.0.100 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102

  5. #5
    getsugatensho's Avatar
    getsugatensho no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,194
    Quote Originally Posted by Schirripal View Post
    Skyfire is coming to berrys but still in alpha testin till who knows when
    And RIM is suppose to have flash integrated coming next year for now nothing for flash for
    Berrys
    BlackBerry9000/4.6.0.297 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102

    Skyfire announced that they would most likely not be making the browser for blackberries.

    But on the other hand, RIM announced they bought out a company that can make a browser with flash for the java based platform that blackberries run on.
    BlackBerry9530/4.7.0.122 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105

  6. #6
    exene's Avatar
    exene no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    21d984e7
    Posts
    114
    Quote Originally Posted by disturkis4u View Post
    No flash for mobile yet though I have it on my android phone =)
    BlackBerry9000/5.0.0.100 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102
    On the tmo mytouch??
    BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.250 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

  7. #7
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    Quote Originally Posted by getsugatensho View Post
    Skyfire announced that they would most likely not be making the browser for blackberries.

    But on the other hand, RIM announced they bought out a company that can make a browser with flash for the java based platform that blackberries run on.
    BlackBerry9530/4.7.0.122 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105
    I hadn't read this about Skyfire, only that they were currently suspending the alpha testing due to the leak. Mozilla has said however that they will not be making Fennec available for the BlackBerry platform. Aside from that, we'll have to see what TorchMobile cranks out for RIM in terms of a new browser.
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  8. #8
    exene's Avatar
    exene no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    21d984e7
    Posts
    114
    Quote Originally Posted by getsugatensho View Post
    But on the other hand, RIM announced they bought out a company that can make a browser with flash for the java based platform that blackberries run on.
    BlackBerry9530/4.7.0.122 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105

    From the what you can gather, do you know if any time in the near future this might be available for
    New models, 8900, storm, etc. Or if this browser is even developed would it strictly be for unreleased Blackberrys?

    Thanks. Sad to know I won't be viewing any fun stuff anytime soon.
    BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.250 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

  9. #9
    exene's Avatar
    exene no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    21d984e7
    Posts
    114
    What's torchmobile?
    BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.250 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

  10. #10
    MStrawder's Avatar
    MStrawder no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    1,825
    TorchMobile is the company RIM bought out to develop their new browser. RIM hasn't given a timeline other then saying sometime in 2010 and they haven't specified whether it will be for existing devices or only new ones. A thread was posted here about it.
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure" ~ Marianne Williamson
    Current OS list by device
    How to upgrade your OS

  11. #11
    exene's Avatar
    exene no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    21d984e7
    Posts
    114
    ^^^ Thanks for the info
    BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.250 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

  12. #12
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    If flash comes to Blackberry it will no doubt be on newer versions and not for current ones. If it could be done easily someone would have already figured it out. The memory and processors on current blackberrys are just not going to be enough to support it. IMO.

  13. #13
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Quote Originally Posted by getsugatensho View Post
    Skyfire announced that they would most likely not be making the browser for blackberries.

    But on the other hand, RIM announced they bought out a company that can make a browser with flash for the java based platform that blackberries run on.
    BlackBerry9530/4.7.0.122 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105
    No one could do that better than RIM. It's their phone and OS.
    They are just too busy not giving a.......
    "Nowhere am I so desperately needed as among a shipload of illogical Humans." (Spock)

  14. #14
    lando4's Avatar
    lando4 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    30FB09EF
    Posts
    114
    i heard the reason for flash not being on berry is due to the fact that it will be vunerable to viruses.. the aim is to keep a virus free cell phone...i will wait till its perfected, no smart phone has it all...if it does sooner or later it will explode, or catch a car seat a blaze hahahaha
    BlackBerry isnt a toy, Its a Tool
    Last edited by moderncowboy; 09-05-2009 at 01:12 AM.
    Lando
    (googletalk/latitude)
    landopecs@gmail.com

    PIN# 30FB09EF
    http://jackshill.hi5.com

  15. #15
    exene's Avatar
    exene no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    21d984e7
    Posts
    114
    Quote Originally Posted by lando4 View Post
    no smart phone has it all...if it does sooner or later it will explode, or catch a car seat a blaze hahahaha
    That's funny! You can bet some developer somewhere is sitting with 7 fingers still trying!!!! LoL!
    BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.250 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •