Results 1 to 12 of 12

I've been trying to install the latest version. It installs completely and when I try ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    AgentMissa's Avatar
    AgentMissa no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    310986F5
    Posts
    29

    BB Desktop Software not installing

    Advertisement



    I've been trying to install the latest version. It installs completely and when I try to open it I get the messege:

    application has generated an exception that could not be handled.
    process ID=0X580(1408), thread ID=0x8c0(2240)
    Click OK to terminate the application.
    Click CANCEL to debug the application.

    Does anyone have any suggestions on how to fix it?

  2. #2
    dushdavj's Avatar
    dushdavj no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,283
    Have you tried uninstalling the software completely, rebooting your PC then installing from scratch? There may be a problem installing over a previous version.

  3. #3
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886
    I agree with dush...
    Uninstall all BB Desktop from your pC, including cache ( (last pop-up screen in uninstallment process).
    Restart PC and install new Desktop.
    Important: don't plug in your phone until all is done. And when you do, give your PC time to dl drivers, before opening Desktop.
    Good luck.

  4. #4
    AgentMissa's Avatar
    AgentMissa no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    310986F5
    Posts
    29
    I uninstalled it. When I tried to install it it said it couldn't find the .msi file..

    I don't get it.

  5. #5
    Delfim's Avatar
    Delfim no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    Nope!
    Posts
    14,886
    OK that's different. You're dl from Blackberry site and it sometimes happens that the whole file isn't fully downloaded or is corrupted.
    Happened to me a few times.
    Make sure you download it again, but follow the dl and don't let your PC "sleep" or go into screensaver. Keep it active .
    I HOPE IT WORKS.

  6. #6
    dushdavj's Avatar
    dushdavj no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,283
    The Download can often be corrupted by your computer going into sleep mode, or depending on what type of connection you have to the internet, the download could be interrupted. These days with DSL or Cable it does not happen so often, but you will find that there are times of the day when the internet is busier than others, basically everyone has come home from work/school and opened up their computers, causing a surge, similar to surges on the electricity grid when everyone comes home and puts the kettle on So as Del says watch the download, if it is going slow, try again later. Also make sure that you delete the old one, don't download and overwrite the old file, download to a new location.

  7. #7
    AgentMissa's Avatar
    AgentMissa no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    310986F5
    Posts
    29
    I tried late last night and this morning.. without the .msi file it doesn't wanna uninstall or install. I uninstalled it manually. This is driving me nuts.

  8. #8
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Missa, there's a link in the Technical Support Blog link in my signature with instructions on how to do a "clean" uninstall of DM. Give that a whirl and see if it helps.

    It's a little dated, but the theory is the same.

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Here is another more updated reference you can use.

  10. #10
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    I just updated the link in my blog with the more current guide.

  11. #11
    dushdavj's Avatar
    dushdavj no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,283
    Missa, I did a search on your problems and it seems a lot of people are having the same issue. It does appear to be a problem with the windows installer, which means that Roger's answer will very likely fix it, the biggest issue will be ensuring that that you completely remove the original install. Be very careful when performing the registry edit, it is a good idea to back the file up prior to doing any edit. I use a program called CCLeaner whcih works very well for keeping the registry working well. You can find it here http://www.piriform.com

  12. #12
    AgentMissa's Avatar
    AgentMissa no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    310986F5
    Posts
    29
    I tried Roger's (which is awsome) and it's still not finding the .msi file. I'll try the CCleaner next. Let you know how it goes. Thanks everyone for the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •