Results 1 to 15 of 15

I know this is a problem for MANY out there, so I thought I would ... General Blackberry forum

  1. #1
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818

    Thumbs up Application to Remove/Modify IT Policy for those never or no longer on BES

    Advertisement



    I know this is a problem for MANY out there, so I thought I would suggest this. I don't know if RIM will pay attention to it, or if such an application already exists, but it's worth a shot.

    I am looking for an application to be made available by RIM (or anyone else that might be able to figure out how) that will allow individuals to remove/modify the IT Policy.

    If someone is on BES for their job, the IT Policy will get reimplemented on their device once they reconnect anyway.

    I was never on BES, I purchased it supposedly new from a TMO dealer. After attempting to place a new, blank IT Policy on my BB, the hateful red lock was turned on and I could no longer disable my firewall.

    I would get errors regarding the firewall and IT Policy, and they are very annoying. Especially when I have an application that is supposed to work just fine but the IT Policy or red lock does not allow it.

    So, an application to manually remove/modify the IT Policy would be great.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  2. #2
    leob's Avatar
    leob no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    52
    I believe if you download and install JL_Cmder to completely wipe the OS from the device then using Desktop Manager re-install the OS, the IT Policy should be removed.

  3. #3
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Quote Originally Posted by leob View Post
    I believe if you download and install JL_Cmder to completely wipe the OS from the device then using Desktop Manager re-install the OS, the IT Policy should be removed.
    I've been told that this might work with my current OS, but that it will definitely work once I have 4.5.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  4. #4
    infernox's Avatar
    infernox no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    107
    Correct. That's what I read else where. It will NOT work on 4.5 only 4.2 and lower.
    9000 Bold / v4.6.0.297 / at&t

  5. #5
    DriftorX's Avatar
    DriftorX no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me!!
    Posts
    466
    I have myself done a complete wipe and reinstall of the OS 4.2.1.74 for my 8800 and I keep getting the red lock on some of my options. Firewall included and numerous other options. How am I able to resolve this. btw.. ive never been on a bes setup.

  6. #6
    leob's Avatar
    leob no está en línea BES Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    52
    If you navigate to Options - Security Options - General Settings, in the General Settings window under IT Policy Name what is shows there? If there is anything other than "default" with a time stamp and last updated time then there may be an IT Policy on your device. Are there any specific Firewall options blocked?

  7. #7
    kkwus74's Avatar
    kkwus74 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    320FB874
    Posts
    1,106
    Quote Originally Posted by lucky13mt View Post
    I know this is a problem for MANY out there, so I thought I would suggest this. I don't know if RIM will pay attention to it, or if such an application already exists, but it's worth a shot.

    I am looking for an application to be made available by RIM (or anyone else that might be able to figure out how) that will allow individuals to remove/modify the IT Policy.

    If someone is on BES for their job, the IT Policy will get reimplemented on their device once they reconnect anyway.

    I was never on BES, I purchased it supposedly new from a TMO dealer. After attempting to place a new, blank IT Policy on my BB, the hateful red lock was turned on and I could no longer disable my firewall.

    I would get errors regarding the firewall and IT Policy, and they are very annoying. Especially when I have an application that is supposed to work just fine but the IT Policy or red lock does not allow it.

    So, an application to manually remove/modify the IT Policy would be great.
    Why dont you try upgrading to OS 4.5,then use jl_cmder to restoretofactory command,that should get rid of all It policy and also remove the firewall lock.

  8. #8
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    No IT Policy visible anywhere in my BB menus.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  9. #9
    kkwus74's Avatar
    kkwus74 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    320FB874
    Posts
    1,106
    What I meant was your firewall is still locked?~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Yeah little red lock.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  11. #11
    kkwus74's Avatar
    kkwus74 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    320FB874
    Posts
    1,106
    Ok...wanna try that suggestion?upgrade to os 4.5 then run jl_cmder restoreyofactory default and it should wipe all it policy and unlock your firewall leaving your OS and 3rd party applications.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    I do not see the restoretofactory selection in jm_cmder. I have upgraded to 4.5 and wiped it through the security options, but I do not see it in the jl_cmder. Is there another version or only one version of jl_cmder?
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  13. #13
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    Hmm...1.9.0 seems to still be the older version without resettofactory option...

    EDIT: Found right version.
    Last edited by lucky13mt; 06-01-2008 at 04:11 PM.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

  14. #14
    kkwus74's Avatar
    kkwus74 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    320FB874
    Posts
    1,106
    i was using 1.9.0......iif im not wrong resettofactory option is number (5)......

  15. #15
    lucky13mt's Avatar
    lucky13mt no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    N/A
    Posts
    2,818
    NO MORE RED LOCK OR IT POLICY ISSUES!!!

    Either kkwus74 or myself will post exactly how it was done.

    This was all thanks to kkwus74.
    BlackBerry Rocks!<-Check it out!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •